Nala & More in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Nov. 15, 2020, 3:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This entry may involve some content that some would find objectionable. Fair warning.

When you think about things, the following items are true.
(1) Nala is almost 2 and still has a great deal of that puppy energy/puppy spirit.
(2) During the cold winter months, Nala does not like going outside and would prefer to run around in doors… anywhere… anyway.
(3) With Victoria and/or Essen coming over even one or two days a week, that is sufficient enough assistance to make a key impact.
(4) My neighbor has actually offered to walk Nala, I just need to get with her on when/how that would work out.
(5) I have a 3rd garage; entirely self contained; heated; that, should I need to, I can place Nala in to prevent her from destroying things. But, and I’m quick to say this, I don’t care if she destroys things, I only worry about that activity hurting her.
(6) I am still worried that I can’t give her enough stimulation. I mean, she has toys for days and people who love her… but it is a concern.
(7) BUT HERE’S AN IMPORTANT ASPECT Nancy moving and COVID limiting social interactions doesn’t just impact me. It impacts Nala, too. So her expressing anxiety isn’t that surprising. She grew up in a house with a human around all day, even if that human didn’t play with her, and now she is in a house with no humans but every once in a while the original human walks in, packs shit, and leaves.

It’s just… I need to remember and embrace some important trauma advice.
Me (and Nala) had Our Human leave. Then COVID hit reducing EVERYONE’s social access to suboptimal! Then winter settles in; a time usually marked by increased isolation and staying in doors. These are a lot of temporary traumas to throw at one person all at once. Let alone a dog. When humans are saying they want more social interaction; isn’t it expected for a dog to have the same need being less than fulfilled?

SO… I’m not going to make some big decision about Nala just because COVID, the Divorce, and Winter are creating temporary traumas. We survive this, and on the other side of it, we re-assess. Because sure, maybe there is a home where she could get more exercise or playtime or social interaction. But I just can’t ignore the argument that believing that at present is likely premature.

The offensive bit I referenced up above?
I was putting some laundry away in a shelving unit where Nancy has been storing things to move… and found some poloroids that were not in her “to move stuff.” Risque photos we took back when Nancy actually liked having sex with me (pre-marriage). So… that’s some interesting stuff to find/have.


woman in the moon November 15, 2020

Good news concerning the pup.

Always Laughing November 15, 2020

Think you're right to look at things once winter/covid are not factors.

DE_KentuckyGirl November 15, 2020

I'm glad you aren't making a permanent decision based on temporary circumstances with Nala. I'm also glad a neighbor is willing to help out a bit.

DimMeOut November 16, 2020

I'm glad you're looking at every option to help Nala before making any big decisions. I had to rehome my English bulldog years ago and I still miss her to this day. It is definitely hard on everyone. ♥

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.