NJM 2020, Entry 12 - Dealing with Dave in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 12, 2020, 10:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, shit. What are y’all doin?

I’m prepping for a Zoom call with a sales guy who legit sexually harassed me when I joined this company. He knows how much I loathe him. I’m sure I’ve written about him before, but I’ve also been with the company a long time.

The short backstory is, when I first joined, I went to a work happy hour to get to know some of my brand new colleagues. Many of the sales team were in town from all over the country and this particular guy is a good ol’ boy from somewhere in the Great Midwest.

Now, nobody warned me about this guy - he’s known for being a wild-ass motherfucker. And you know me, I loooove me a good happy hour, so he and I ended up being the last two standing at the end of the evening.

Of course I was wearing a dress and of course I was wearing spanx underneath and OF COURSE my dress shifted around a bit while we were sitting next to each other, exposing the bottom hem of my spanx. The problem with all of this is…

He took a peek down at my legs and saw the spanx and decided to take his whole hand and put it UNDERNEATH my spanx and ask, “WHY ARE YOU WEARING THESE!!” and rub his hand back and forth on the underside of the spanx.

At that point, I was like, what the actual fuck. I immediately left, kind of freaked out.

Later I debated on saying something to… well, anyone. Problem is, the two of us were left alone and I was enjoying the heck out of the happy hour until that happened. This is the dilemma of the harrassed. Things are not on your side if you even appear to be a willing participant.

I guess the thing that I get so annoyed about with this guy is that he hasn’t changed and he gets away with so much bullshit because he has that good ol’ boy relationship with his customers and sells a lot of stuff. In other words, he makes the company a ton of $$$$ so he gets a blind eye…even a wink and a nod…for his horrid behavior.

Anyway, I have a call with him and he’s going to ask me to do a bunch of work for him and I will be gracious on the call but secretly seethe underneath and UGH. It’s so ridiculous that I’m even still here. I don’t have to deal with him much, but when I do, I get sick to my stomach.

I better get going for now. Lots to do today.

Wish me luck and wish him a lightning strike,
GS


Complicated Disaster November 12, 2020

Ick :-/ xx

WhatDreamsMayCome November 12, 2020

I think the hardest slap you could have mustered would have been appropriate.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ November 12, 2020

Agree! Wish I had done that, but as with every time something like this has happened to me, I have been stunned, shocked, and unable to react. It’s a very strange sensation.

Marg November 13, 2020

Yuck! The things we have to do for work (ie be civil to someone we would rather slap upside the head!).

pandora November 14, 2020

Fuck Dave. I know a few of those types of guys - not ones I work with, but wholesalers from fund companies. One of them apparently tried to drug a good friend of mine. I flipped out and told a couple of his 'buddies' in my job, but I have a feeling they still hang out.

plushcreep November 14, 2020

I hate the good ol' boys club, and I'm a guy! Here's hoping for a random bolt outta the blue.

Jinn November 14, 2020

I would have smacked him about the time he touched me .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.