Mental health in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • April 15, 2014, 8:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don't like those two words juxtaposed. I think there's a stigma attached to anything related to mental health, whether that's a bout of depression or full-blown paranoid schizophrenia. Mental health issues can affect anyone at any time - some of them are hereditary conditions, some are developed as a result of a life event, and some are temporary blips caused by a brief crisis. I've suffered on and off from varying degrees of depression since my early 20s, and every event I've had has been directly caused by a life crisis. Stress, basically. So to find myself in the offices of a dedicated NHS department for the purposes of dealing with my mental health and providing 'support' felt incongruous and uncomfortable to me today. I have to say I was quite rude and resistant to the whole scenario, and directly told the nurses I didn't need them, didn't want to be there, felt there was a massive stigma attached to even entering the building, and didn't believe they could help in any way.

They largely agreed with me and discharged me back to my doctor, who I will be seeing tomorrow morning.

I told them the suicide mission was directly caused by the citalopram I was taking - citalopram is KNOWN for causing suicide attempts - so much for it being an anti-depressant! I told them I didn't have any current suicidal urges, but couldn't possibly say for certain that I wouldn't ever again (who can?) and that no, I don't know what I'm going to do, I don't know how long my support network will hold out (friends and even close family soon get bored with going over the same ground day after day - I realise that pretty soon I'll have no-one left who wants to listen), and when it all collapses, maybe I'll give them a call and ask to be taken back on. In the meantime, I don't need strangers meddling in my life thank you very much.

I suppose I should feel grateful that the service is even provided, but right now, everything just makes me angry. Just over a week ago, my life was chugging along nicely - or so I thought. And now, it's in a thousand tiny little pieces. I can barely put one foot in front of the other, let alone make long-term, major, sensible decisions for myself or on behalf of anyone else.

My happiness book is helping me to feel less out of control - at least that's something - but I can barely look my son in the eye. I had to leave the room when he came downstairs earlier. He's acting like nothing happened. So is my husband. I feel like the only sane person in a mad house, and yet I'm the one with the 'mental health' problems.


Lady of the Bann April 15, 2014

You probably wouldn't want the family all over you and wanting to talk about it all the time either, so don't be annoyed at them ignoring the situation. But if you can talk about it make them sit down and listen. People don't understand and don't know how to react. My daughter had psychosis for months after she had her daughter 5 years ago and has had a couple of breakdowns since. They now say she is Bi-polar. My son was depressed at 15 and I could get no help for him frOm the doctor, the doctor actually told him if he didn't pull himself together he would be sweeping the streets for a living(he was a very bright boy). then a friend suggested we go out walking and we did and we talked and got very close. He is now 31, although is still up and down. Bit like me. But we have to fight it. All the best.x

Lyn April 15, 2014

May all the people you've been there for be there for you.

Deleted user April 19, 2014

I'm kind of in the same boat. Nobody to listen.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.