Over Dramatic in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Nov. 4, 2020, 9:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Call me over dramatic but my sense of personal justice had already been pushed to its exhausted end. After seeing my state go overwhelmingly in favor of corruption, fear, and hatred? My sense of justice is shattered right now.

You thought we could be decent men in an indecent time…but you were wrong! The world is cruel. And the only morality in a cruel world is chance. Unbiased, unprejudiced, fair.

I’ve been playing. I could have shot you… two in the face. But I want you to live. I want you to see what you’ve helped create this time around. I want you to feel every death I cause… knowing that you helped to cause it by helping to recreate me.

Some people go to the beach to forget their problems. They can watch the waves for hours. I understand the fascination. There’s a pattern – then there is no pattern. It’s the same with the coin. We want it all to mean something – We want to find the pattern – But in the final analysis, it’s just waves. The only absolute stays hidden like some glittering Snake, waiting in mirrored silence for the opportunity to strike. My hand trembles. I stare into the glass. Something terrible stares back.

You see… the very nature of the law is arbitrary. You’ve got a better chance of justice in this town by, say, flipping a coin, than putting yourself at the mercy of this or any other court.

Hero is just a concept. Call someone a hero long enough, and they’ll believe it. They’ll become it. They have no choice. Let them call you a monster, and you become a monster.

The whole language and logic of computers is contained in two values. One and zero. One. Zero. One. Zero. Into infinity. Two values that can be made to mean anything. The sum of human knowledge in just those two. One and zero. Two sides of a coin. Two possibilities leading to endless possibilities.

Punishment–and “rehabilitation”– The paradoxically opposed forces of the two-faced system I once served as districtt attorney Harvey Dent…and whose judgement I now hold in my hand.

alt text


hippiechica15 November 04, 2020

I was unsurprised to see that result but my heart sank for you <3

Pretend Mulling November 04, 2020

Be of stout heart; mail-in ballots are still being counted. There could be a major upset to come, still.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.