Well crap in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Nov. 4, 2020, 1:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… After writing, I finally nodded off. For approximately one hour. At which point I had a horribly graphic nightmare that involved me in a very painful car wreck.
Got up, threw on some jeans, went to grab some evidence from the police, then went to vote. Who was behind me in line?? Victoria, holding her daughter. So that was cool. After I left, she texted the group chat to say that her daughter had asked if I brought Nala to vote, too. :) Adorable. That got the group chat started; and veered off into Essen and I talking. She’s a 90s kid like Remus and Victoria, but she’s seen my 80s movies. Was able to catch references to Return to Oz, Labyrinth, and Legend. Talked Anime. Even volunteered information about how she’s a fan of Tom Hardy but felt the third Batman Nolan film did a disservice to Bane from the Comic Books. Like… it is taking active participation on my part to remind myself… hold it together, restrain, this isn’t what you want to be involved with right now. Let her get her own shit figured out… especially AS the attorney that would be tagged, you don’t want to be involved in something that could go on the Juvenile Docket or the Domestic Abuse/Criminal Docket. Not to mention there’s a lot of unresolved weirdness in general with this group right now so just… embrace, enthusiastically, making friends with more people and enjoy that for what it is right now.

But here’s the issue. My morning is scheduled to be full of Child Protection Paperwork. Typically, a quick thing if I’m focused. Like each petition could take 30 to 40 minutes. I’ve got 5, so that’s only a few hours. If I’m unfocused? Each one takes hours. Because it is 3/4 Data Entry and 1/4 Actual Law; and you can’t be in Data Entry mode when you’re inputing the law portion. Sleep issues last night, regular shit in my life, election day apprehension, and everything else going on? I’ve been considerably UNFOCUSED. Not to mention the constant barrage of e-mails and phone calls! To say that I am behind schedule at present is an understatement. And I’m not stressed. I’m not upset that I’m so far behind schedule. I am full of “fuck it” attitude. After all, several of these are Out of County Issues that happened to become my problem because of “timing.” Yeaaaaah… if there are twins born in September whose cord blood tested positive for Narcotics… why did you wait until they moved to my county before attempting to get the government involved?? In my office, if there’s positive drug test in cord for infant? That shit gets filed that week! Not 5 weeks later, after the family has already moved!

So… yeah. That’s where I am right now. I have 2 Child Protection Petitions to fill out, with accompanying proposed court orders; one No Contact Investigation to look into and resolve; one Child Placement Request to draft and file; one Amended Charging Document to draft and file; one Termination of Parental Rights due to Substance Abuse petition to fill out, with accompanying proposed court order; and more than 30 e-mails to read and return (so far)… within the next… 4 hours. Fingers crossed?.

Well, shit. To cap it all off? Printer and computer are freaking out. SOOooo… some extra time getting blown on trying to figure out WHAT THE HELL!?


Last updated November 04, 2020


woman in the moon November 04, 2020 (edited November 04, 2020)

Edited

I hadn't realized testing blood in umbilical cords was a thing? Is it done all the time or only if there are suspicions? I wonder what besides drugs are tested for.

Park Row Fallout woman in the moon ⋅ November 04, 2020

Excellent question! I honestly don't know if it is standard or if it is strictly based on suspicion. I know several times with individuals in my local system; we'll proactively request the blood cord tests to make sure the hospital has all the paperwork sorted to comply with competing "mandatory reporter" and "HIPAA" statutes.

DE_KentuckyGirl November 04, 2020

Labyrinth! ❤

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.