Our first Covid scare in My Therapy Book

  • Oct. 28, 2020, 8:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We finally got our first personal Covid scare. My wife got tested months ago for work but at that time we did not believe she was sick or even exposed to someone. She simply had a fever one day and they made her go get tested to come back. On Monday we were told that a student in my son’s class tested positive for Covid. It put all the parents into a frenzy. It got so bad on the parent thread that I had to block the thread so I did not have to listen to all the bullshit. There are some crazy ass parents in this world. You choose to send you child back to school and they have done everything possible to ensure they are safe. Get off your high horse and deal with it. I was a little nervous since we have a mother in law is is just getting out of cancer treatment and not feeling all that great. The kids pediatrician was great, I called 45 minutes before they were closing and they told me to bring the kids right over and they would test them. They both came back negative and the staff and doctor at the office were fabulous. So far I have not heard of any kids in the class coming back positive.

I don’t understand the Mother-in-Law though. She said even if the kids test positive she was not going to go and get tested. She said she had enough other things to worry about and that she did not need one more thing. We were talking about what an excellent job the school has done in making a safe environment for the kids and she went off on a tangent about masks being a joke and not really doing anything. I think she may have had a sip of the Kool-Aid. On top of that my daughter was a mess thinking we (her parents) might be responsible for giving her grandmother the Covid. She was going on about how irresponsible we were sending our son to in person school and that this was all our fault. She had a full on, curled up on the floor, break down. They need to up her Abilify. I am still now sure what would have happened if she or her brother had tested positive. We probably would have had to Baker Act her. (humor - before people attack me)

I was just talking to a friend who works at the school. So the school does not pay for teachers in the class to get tested for the Covid. I am surprised at that. She made a good argument for them not to pay for it but I still think that if you are a teacher and a kid in your tests positive the school system should pay to have you tested.


Reading_Blankie 📚 October 28, 2020

Is your wife okay?

I am sooooo sick of people thinking this virus isn’t real. Someone we know had it too, and thankfully, they recovered.

There are just so many people here in Arizona that have public hissy fits over wearing masks—— MASKS!

We decided that when school went to in person learning, we opted to keep our son on e-learning, which is turning into a blessing because the COVID cases are getting higher. 😷

lost soul Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ October 28, 2020

My wife is fine, thanks for asking. Everyone who has tested has gotten a negative return. I agree about people thinking it is not real. It was a hard decision to send our son back to in person learning. The school has done an excellent job and this is the first instance at the school since the start of the school year in August. I still get nervous at time though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.