First Freeze in Bittersweet

  • Oct. 27, 2020, 3:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had our first freeze. We got over a foot of snow in 12 hours. It was beautiful watching the snow fall and im learning a bit more about the weather here. While my neighbor told me it rarely snows or sticks. Reading facebook groups about local weather and emergency preparedness for homeless says otherwise. It got down below zero last night. No wind chill thankfully. But still so cold. I ended up moving my bunnies into the transport carriers in the shed. It was 2-3 degrees warmer and no wind. There was wind yesterday and last night. Its up to 25 out there and the sun is SO warm. I see how it will melt fast. Because the porch is steaming as it melts.

Im never sure what to expect with the weather here. Its so weird and random haha.

We managed to limp through school work. Some days are such a struggle with some kids. Little girl is starting to slowly get better with her letters. She is still mixing up N and H. n h do kinda look alike. But L, J, and K can be complicated. Then the sounds are frustrating. Phonics are a mess. Seriously our language is so weird. Why we spell things so funky vs how they sound. I never throught how complicated the language really is till you have to teach a small child how to read. We are currently taking a break watching a halloween movie. We need a break.

I think tonight is a chicken soup day, even though its now at 30 degrees and the sun is melting fast. But we have left over steak, so steak soup with biscuits. Im kinda glad and sad the snow dosent last long here. I half want winter, But i dont mind it coming back up into the 60s. It looks as though im teaching my next photography class in a few days. We are now going to be skirting good weather for it or something. They dont operate well under 70s here haha. Its too cold for everyone? Its all good.
Today im too exhausted to go do it. Not sure why. I think im going to call it on school. Let the kid just go. Do some spinning seeing it takes next to no energy. I carded some angora and ive got about 6 bags to do from this summer. Lots of angora.


Jinn October 27, 2020

It’s cold here but no snow, thank goodness !

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 27, 2020

Its warming back up. Will be 70 next week and up to 60 the rest of this week. I dont mind it now that its only going to last a day haha. Its melting :D

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 28, 2020

I wish it was warming back up here. I hate cold weather and I know we are just starting :-(

Small Town Girl November 01, 2020

I bet the bunnies were glad to be out of the wind! Even if the shed is only a few degrees warmer than outside, shelter from the wind is a huge help! Cold wind is the worst!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ November 02, 2020

Yes it is. Its quite nice and warm out now. Its actually in the 80s inside the shed with the doors open and fans running. And 65 outside now :) Thankfully. I really enjoy this up and down weather actually. Cool for a bit, have some chili and soup, Warmer, have some bbq haha.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.