Stirring the Pot in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Oct. 21, 2020, 12:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s some humor!

I may have started a bees nest of bullshit.

I follow a page dedicated to being against Toxic Masculinity. Considering I was on College Boards about that subject before the term even EXISTED… yeah, I’m a supporter. The idea that men should NEVER express emotion, should NEVER admit to having needs, and should ONLY express their “masculine appropriate emotions” is absolute HORSE SHIT! And I’ve been fighting against that since I was 19.

HOWEVER… this group has also become EXCESSIVELY anti-cop. Like… to the point where, they were posting a news article about a Police Officer’s resignation due to personal stress and MOCKING HIM FOR IT. That? I’m not okay with. AT ALL.

So I outed myself.

I stated directly, “Could the Admin of this page please P.M. me. I am a Special Victims Prosecutor and, while I admit my officers are not perfect, I would like to start a conversation. Because I followed this page for a reason. I am VERY against toxic masculinity. But part of that is my stalwart opposition to rape. AND without my officers, I can do nothing about rape. So if we are going to thread the needle between being Anti-Rape and Anti-Cop, I would very much like to have that conversation.”

We’ll see what happens, I guess.


caramelchicken October 21, 2020

Good on you for calling them out on that. It's worrying when what starts as a positive movement morphs into antagonistic, extreme and unhelpful biases against others.

hippiechica15 October 21, 2020

Good on you. I hope there is a productive discussion.

DE_KentuckyGirl October 21, 2020

Yeah I'd like to see that conversation.

The Dress Collector October 21, 2020

Good for you for calling them out. I feel that so many people have gone so far one direction or the other, they are unable to take a step back and pause for a moment to see what it is they are saying and sharing behind the safety of their screens. And then even more damage occurs when they take this position out into the real world, and sometimes there are no consequences for it. Bah. Crazy world...

Deleted user October 24, 2020

I support you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.