"If you view everything through politics you will be miserable" - oh lordy, if that ain't the truth. I'd go insane if my whole life was listening to those overpaid, uncaring morons. I like what you said about the Chinese being beautiful. I definitely saw that when I was there last year. Dancing in the parks, all so friendly even though I barely spoke a word of the language. I felt so exposed though, having to give ALL my fingerprints the moment I arrived in the terminal, cameras on every street corner, no matter where I was. The WeChat app knowing my wearabouts 24/7, I will say, I did feel very safe though. The government control probably does have some effect on the crime rate, I dunno, the city was the population of my country so I guess that's hard to keep calm. I remember hearing on a travel show once, "Don't judge a country by it's government" and oh lordy that is also so true. I think the only 'government' monument I was interested in seeing overseas was Buckingham Palace and that's only cos I wanted to see Lizzy!
Anyway, well done on starting a cat-fight for the keyboard warriors :D