Control Freak in Current Events

  • Sept. 17, 2020, 5:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took a moment to reflect on why I am getting upset with people and I concluded the obvious. I seem to think that I can control people and the world. That’s what anxiety is, it’s about control. That’s what fear boils down to. The fear of not being in control. We are control freaks. I managed to take in a deep breath and convince myself to let it go. The control I mean. The need for it. Dear ego: we are not the centre of the world.

I heard a psychologist explain how we’re not evolved for social media. It’s a whole entity in our minds. Those dozens or hundreds of interactions are registered as one entity. That makes sense to me. I currently feel somewhat neglected and hurt that I can’t get people to interact with me or respond to me. It feels like one let down, as though I am getting ignored by a friend. I’ll have to let that go. I mean, I did quit social media for over a year and I only came back to talk politics. I don’t want to be a silent majority. My reach is not enough. I’m honestly feeling ready to just vlog. I’m not confident that it will last long, I don’t align with mainstream narratives so I will get de-platformed fast. So it can only be a hobby, not an income. Blah

I got into it with some people on YouTube, just comment sections I’m not out there yet. I’m trying to learn about this concept of everything existing as ontological mathematics, in waves and frequency and not as matter and particles. A religion, or cult, was made around it and I’m not into that part but I hear them out. Long story short, it’s a little new age in the sense that it is about waking people up to see who they really are. How they truly exist in this world. However, the founder of this cult got political recently. He implied that the revolution we are here for is the one in which we are to breakdown the patriarchy of white privilege. Like, man! I thought he was smarter than to go along with the mainstream narrative and I had no problem calling it out. His cultists came for me. I’m still going to keep up with him, I have room in my life for differences of opinion. Russel Brand is another one. He’s brilliant when it comes to spirituality but is a little naive with politics because he believes in a utopia in which all of humanity is fueled by compassion. Conservatives know that a woketopia is impossible because people are not perfectible. It will go south fast because people are inherently corrupt and evil. Just look at the leftists in the streets of America. Hyperianism is the cult I am speaking about. It’s very lefty. It’s anti-religion, it’s about full self-expression and chasing your appetites to the end of the earth. I’m not about that for myself. I want to tame my appetites so I can govern myself, that’s my version of freedom.

Anyway, I went for a long walk with Bruce last night. I am trying to be her accountability partner but also I just like being around her, she’s changing her life around and has a victor mentality and that’s the kind of people I want to be around. I inspire her and she inspires me. I pushed through my mood poisoning and get back in the kitchen today. I managed to wing it at making my energy bites pumpkin spice. I made my frozen yogurt bars, peri peri hot sauce, potato leek soup and tomorrow I am making little bun loafs to turn into bowls for my corn chowder. Also tortilla wraps and my pumpkin pie in jars situation. Blah, I also meet up with Toni this weekend to officially start apartment hunting.


Walking Crow September 17, 2020

Jeez all the food prep making me feel off my game and lazy!!! Go you <3

-hugs- Self-discovery is a hell of a process, and it's amazing the shades we can pull off our eyes just through small discoveries and introspection. In turn, it teaches us about being human, and thus others as well as ourselves. All discovery is connected I believe.

Deleted user September 17, 2020

Very cool that you are able to dig into your anxiety and quirks... most people are too narrow or closed minded to even care about soul searching. I also don't believe in social media. Its way too all encompassing for me. I quit social media because I became obsessed, but Id rather be present. And send some food to Maryland if you have any leftovers!! 😉

TL Deleted user ⋅ September 18, 2020

I didn’t have social media it had me before I last quit. It was a toxic environment because I was a toxic environment. I only returned because I started to consume politics and I wanted to have nuanced dialogue with other so that I could enrich my views, practice debates and all that. It was new territory. I never had actual hate and death threats during the last round but I’m not getting my reach far enough. I totally get the wanting to be present. I catch myself losing that balance. How long have you been offline?

Deleted user TL ⋅ September 18, 2020

I've been offline for several years... maybe 3 years? There is a big push for me to reconnect. My job is pushing for it for marketing purposes, and something in me wants to reach out to all of my old friends and what not. Part of the reason why I left is because I had so many friends, followers or whatever, but none of them knew who I really was. And none of them called or texted when it really mattered. They only knew my birthday because facebook told them it was my birthday. But you know, I still don't know anyone's birthday so... I'm working on it. Haha!

You may have been a toxic environment, but the world needs all kinds of people. I'd say keep becoming the person you want to be, but the people who are the most outspoken and "disruptive" are the ones who change the world. Not that changing the world is your goal necessarily, but there is a need for people who have a different perspective and are able to intelligently defend it, or stand by it, like you. I guess there are many ways to use such talents.

analizzato September 17, 2020

I love your version of freedom. And your calm clarity in the face of this total political chaos and a lot of misinformation. <3

TL analizzato ⋅ September 18, 2020

I don’t feel too calm, tbh. I’m not emotionally incontinent or unhinged but I’m flustered enough to come to my blog to collect myself lol. I think that a lot of us are waking up to this misinformation. It’s new territory for me at least. The illusion is breaking down.

pineappleprincess524 September 19, 2020

What is the name of the cult you are talking about? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it.
My FB is pure family/workout/nothing political or controversial at all. Could I say stuff? Oh boy could I! But I’m so over it.

TL pineappleprincess524 ⋅ September 19, 2020

Hyeprianism. I hear ya about FB. Mine used to be selfies and memes. I haven't taken a selfie all year lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.