Therapy in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Sept. 4, 2020, 4:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Therapy was good today.
I was not.

Last night, my pain was bothering me. I took a late soak. Fell asleep in the bathtub. It drained. I became cold. I sleepily walked to bed and curled up in the covers.
SOMEBODY’S DUMBASS DIDN’T SET AN ALARM!
So… slept through the morning. Then my therapist’s office lost internet and she had to get a workaround going and it took some extra time. SO… let’s just call this a sick day no call/no show, I suppose :(

But therapy was good. We discussed how Victoria telling me I wasn’t responsible for her pain made me feel and how that reflects on what the relationship with Nancy was like. In a word: Co-Dependent. Years and Years of a woman who wouldn’t do anything; making me the person who did everything, and was made to feel responsible for taking care of her. So especially in the current time where I feel so much of life and the world is out of control… what can I do to reassert control over my own life while also realizing and accepting that I am not responsible for taking care of Nancy. CASE: Her shit in my house. I don’t need to convince her or ask her or incentivize her to come get her property. She’s been out of the house since March. When you move, typically a Landlord gives you 30 days max to get your shit out. She’s had over six times that amount of time to get her shit out. Collecting her property is her responsibility. Wanting it out of my home or at least know what things are/will actually become mine? That’s me. So I need to tell her to be responsible or there are consequences. And then… work diligently over the next many months to cure my codependency.

Here’s the plan.
Nancy has until the end of September to at least provide me with a list of the large furniture items she is taking.
Nancy has until October 17 to grab all the smaller shit she wants to take from the house.
DEADLINE: All of her stuff needs to be out of the house by the end of October or I will spend the first week of November determining what I want to keep, what I want to sell, and what I want to give away.

Problem is… I think everyone here knows she isn’t going to do the first two things. So I really need to be able to follow through with the END DATE consequences. Which are most assuredly going to be difficult for me.


AppleGirl September 04, 2020

Pack literally everything in the garage. Tell her if it’s not gone by the end of September you are either donating it or throwing it away. Then do it.

If I was able to do that to my father, you can do it to your soon to be ex wife.

You teach people how you want to be treated by what you allow them to do to you.

hippiechica15 AppleGirl ⋅ September 04, 2020

I have to agree with this. It's time to get tough.

Firebabe AppleGirl ⋅ September 04, 2020

Have to agree with this one. Even breaking it into giving you a list, and then removing small stuff...naw man. That's still too enabling. Pack it ALL up, put aside, give her till the end of the month to come get all of it. She's had plenty of time to figure out what she wants. The fact that she's already had six months to pick things up and hasn't? That just means she doesn't really need any of it. If she did, she'd have gotten it already. At this point you're just her friendly neighborhood U Store It, which she's using FOR FREE.

Set your boundaries and stand by them, and people will learn to respect them.

Always Laughing September 04, 2020

I think one or 2 dates is sufficient. First date set can be for the list, second date is pickup deadline. If things aren't gotten by then, she has no claim on anything.

DE_KentuckyGirl Always Laughing ⋅ September 04, 2020

yes. She can make a total list. She has time. Her lack of motivation is not your problem.

DE_KentuckyGirl September 04, 2020

"What you allow is what will continue"

Park Row Fallout DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ September 04, 2020

This is... damn true. And a big part of what I need to heal. I don't want to come off as a bad guy or demanding and even knowing that Nancy has had loads of time to resolve the issue... this is just what I am trying to unlearn

-d September 04, 2020

Make sure whatever dates you give her, you put in writing. If you get rid of someone's stuff it's technically stealing, unless you can prove abandonment.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.