Ain't gonna work. in A small but passable life.

  • Aug. 27, 2020, 1:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“The Road to Reality: A Complete Guide to the Laws of the Universe” by Roger Penrose.

I hated to do it. But I had to. I closed the book somewhere in Chapter Two. I was already lost. I’m going to have to resign mathematics to the same file as I have other esoteric subjects.

Some people just can’t see it. And I’m one of them.

In the US the number one reason students drop out of highschool is not being able to pass algebra.

In the US the number one reason students drop out of college is not being able to pass algebra.

I’ve done the research. A lot of research. Mathematics instructors through various unions and associations have pushed through legislation requiring a certain level of instruction for graduation requirement. Basically, passing algebra to graduate most academic programs.

Why? As always, in capitalism, just follow the money. Who’s job is on the line?

I took Basic Algebra twice in a community college after being placed in that level by a test. The first time I made a “D” which didn’t allow me to continue on. But I did get a certificate for perfect attendance!

The second time I took it I did a summer class. This meant four times a week for five weeks. The class was in the morning so every day after class I went to the math lab for help for the rest of the day. I had all the work from the first time so I didn’t have to work the problems I had gotten correct, just the ones I hadn’t. Plus, the instructor gave us extra credits for things not mathematical, like attendance and extra work. Somehow I got a “A”. But I still didn’t know what was going on.

By the time “Last Day to Drop” came around more than half the class had dropped.

I took Intermediate Algebra twice also. The same thing happened both times. A test was given at the beginning, which I failed. A conference with the instructor where I explained that just because I’d made an “A” didn’t mean I had the slightest clue what the fuck what going on and no, I wasn’t going to take Basic a third time.

And both times I dropped on the last day to drop. Money down the shitter. And both times I went back the following week to peek in the window in the door during that class. And sure enough, out of thirty-plus students who started, there were eight or ten left.

And as for the three times I was called into the Head of Mathematics (?) office and asked what my problem was, she acted offended when I asked “Why can’t you folks teach Algebra?”

So, my quest for an Associate Transfer Degree ended. Even though my GPA at the time was a 4.0.

I’m satisfied with the ninety-plus hours of debt free college credit I’ve accumulated in the last forty years. (Three different colleges and universities.)

(I’m lacking some General Ed credits. (The reason for the need of a Transfer Degree.) I have all my Speech Communication, Political Science, Philosophy, and History credits for a major and three minors.)

I’ll just sit in my chair and go the autodidact route. I’m still thinking about those free courses from MIT.

Sure a diploma will get you a seat at the table for some kind of game to play (corporate, academic, or financial), if you’re into that kind of thing, but I believe game play isn’t necessary for living.

Besides, a mathematician can’t tell you where we are any more than any human on Earth could.

All that to say I’m setting a book aside? Oops!


Last updated August 27, 2020


LittleAvocado August 27, 2020

Maths and me do not get along. It makes my brain bleed. :(

Mr. Mofo August 27, 2020

Yep, math of any sort makes me cranky as well. I mean ya gotta do the maths, but it all blows.

Emily August 27, 2020

I'm definitely someone who is not 'naturally' good at math, but I overcame it. I think there are two main issues, one is confidence - math and algebra especially are hyped up as being super difficult and people feel defeated before they even start. The second is lack of time spent on math. Think of how much time you spend practicing reading and writing. If an equal amount of time was spent on math, people would be a lot better at it.

And also, I personally use and see algrbra and other advanced mathematics in everyday life. Just today, I weighed out some food and used algebra to figure out how many servings I had. So, once you know more math you start to see it in everyday life, and not just as an academic exercise.

woman in the moon August 28, 2020

I had 4 yrs of math in my little catholic hs. Alg. 1, Geometry, Alg. 2, semester of trig and a semester of 'advanced'/new math - set theory, different bases, other stuff that doesn't come to mind. I loved math. It gave me confidence and parts of it were 'fun'. Math is like a window into the world of knowledge. We can't all be geniuses but a lot of us can get a better idea of how the world works if we can understand math a little better.

I took chemistry and physics which are math based and I liked chemistry - it was easy but physics was hard.

A lot depends on the teacher. Case in point - my kids both did well in school but one was more of a words guy and the other more of a numbers person. The words kid struggled with algebra I, did ok in geometry. When he was 'assigned ' to algebra II, I called on the school counsellors to ask what was up. The kid was not going to be an engineer, he got the only C and maybe even a D in algebra I, so why torture him and me and the poor teacher by making him take algebra II. The counsellor said he had made it through AI and he did ok in math on standardized tests so he should be able to do A2. Then the kicker. He asked who his A1 teacher had been. I told him and he nodded. He said he'd have a different teacher for A2. I gave up. I really wanted him to take the course because I loved and valued it but I just didn't want him to fail. Well guess what!? The different teacher was a gifted man who explained and explained and explained. My son said he would break chalk explaining on the board. And my son got it. He didn't get As but he didn't get Cs or Ds or the fabled Fs either.
I've often thought that the school spoiled a lot of kids' academic careers by sorting the non brilliant math minds OUT when a better teacher would have done a better job teaching, and more kids would have had a chance at the more 'academic' courses.

OK. That's it.

Jinn August 30, 2020

That book would have bored me to tears. :-) So did chemistry and physics. I just suffered all the way through them.,,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.