Triggered in Current Events

  • Aug. 22, 2020, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent the day with Brucey yesterday. We went to a few different towns to walk along the beaches during this heatwave. Those towns were so much bigger to me when I was a child. It was spontaneous, we are going to go to different beaches next weekend or so but are going to bring swimwear. Finally, someone in my life who wants to do stuff and go places. We don’t have much time for summer left but my favourite season is around the corner and I want to go riding horses, do haunted tours of my city, do that one special tour through our legislature building that is only available in October. It fits the blueprint of the temple of Solomon to a T and is full of Illuminati symbols. True or not, it’s fun. Anyway, I almost cried when she was telling me about her current weight loss journey. I always get emotional and happy when someone takes control of their health. I’m lame. I also made the assumption that her life was in shambles and that is why she reached out to me to hang out. Nobody wants me around when their lives are good and happy. I was wrong, she’s in a good place. I then spent the evening At Bev’s with her boys for a movie night. It was a decent day.

I accidentally triggered myself yesterday though. This time last year I was trying to get over a “traumatic” job loss. The restaurant franchise I worked for made the decision, after I forwarded multiple sexual harassment claims from current and ex-employees, to protect the predator and silence the victims. I experienced retaliation from my employer, I slowly watched myself lose my job and then after I was terminated they fired absolutely everybody who confirmed the allegations and everybody who knew me. Yesterday, satirically I was going to write a bitchy post about it on their Facebook page to warn people to not let their kids work there. I stopped because I’m classy. However, now it stings all over again. Being petty and shaming them on Facebook would probably feel good for a moment but it was a damn hard thing to get over. It was an injustice and the victims have probably moved on with their lives but it just cut deep for me because I didn’t think my decision to stand up for women was going to cost me everything and then hurt everyone I cared about in the workplace. It was the right thing to do and I didn’t hesitate.

So today I feel some type of way. I don’t have to commit to that though. I am going to throw my resume around online. Bev is going to put in a word for me at her workplace. Also, I just noticed, that right now as I type, in the tab that I have Indeed open in I have four businesses that responded to my resume and are interested. I’ll respond to those today, I am also going to look into the adult ed courses that start up in a couple of weeks and just… be like my boy Trump and my girl Thatcher and get.shit.done. and not apologize for it. One of the companies that appear to be interested in my resume is a house cleaning company, I applied because I’m a freak of nature who cleans for fun and this would be a good side hustle… even though I don’t have a main hustle. Anyway, I should go get it done.

Ps. Not that I am one to overthink seeing synchronicities and coincidences but the first thing to popup in my newsfeeds on multiple socials is Rose McGowan calling out Alyssa Milano for hijacking her #MeToo (which was a communication tool) and turning it into a movement. Rose gave up everything to stand up for what she believed. I’m curious to see how this turns out.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.