Wednesdays are Pointless in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Aug. 19, 2020, 10:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Truly, the most pointless day on my calendar is Wednesdays. Now, that’s an arrogant as balls thing to say because if Courts were running effectively? Wednesdays would be a damned God-send. You see… Mondays? 50% chance or better of court usually. Tuesdays? 80% chance of court. Thursdays? 100% chance of court! Fridays? 60% chance of court. But Wednesdays? 0% chance. none. No possible possibility of any court requirements or experiences. And again… if we were busting our asses preparing Court Appearances and working until our fingers bled.... that small 1 day break in the middle of all of the chaos would be something to celebrate. But, and you knew this would be true… the government isn’t exactly doing great right now. We’re… a struggling mess of infighting and policy debates as it is on a normal day. But add the Chaos that Trump has injected into every level of the GOP… along with a ridiculous Pandemic… influenced by Trump’s Chaos which is why even after prestigious universities like Notre Dame have said, “We couldn’t contain COVID”, Iowa’s Governor is saying, “I don’t fucking care. Everyone back to class!”.... along with an almost unbelievable hurricane in Iowa that our Governor again… fucked up for political gain. When we needed her? She was doing a campaign event for Pence. THEN came back to Iowa. And quickly wrangled… for Trump to visit. Not, y’know, quickly made damned sure Iowans were safe, taken care of, and had proper insurance or FEMA assistance. No statements so far on how Iowa or the US is going to handle the massive crop damage which may significantly impact the farming community and food prices. No. The IMPORTANT THING was to get Donald to visit the damage sites because it would provide excellent coverage for his re-election campaign. Troglodyte bitch. Sorry… I’m… a bit upset with our governor these days.

But the point remains. The government right now is fucked up. We won’t have “consistently reliable court services” until October. And the closer we get to that, the less I believe the roll out will be “consistently reliable” as it, like every other response this year, seems far more likely to be “Everyone for themselves! Chicken with its head cut off scenario!”

Thus… Wednesdays tend to be pointless.
alt text

In other news, I accomplished a lot last night without doing too terribly much. My biggest items were (1) Roll20 Game; (2) Kitchen Clean; (3) Laundry Done; (4) Dishes taken care of. And actually… I succeeded there! So hooray for that. For doing what I requested to be my bare minimum. As far as eating healthier and exercising better so I can lose (now) 65 pounds? That’s… not… as… I’ve done nothing. :( I know, I know. This year is about surviving, we’ll save thriving for a time when trauma isn’t our daily bread. But still. I had beaten my plateau weight! I was under 220 for the first time in YEARS. And now? 225. So… that kind of sucks. Maybe after the divorce, I can really honestly put some consideration into figuring out if I should turn the oversized guestroom into a home gym? I’m not really a “Go to the Gym” guy for a lot of reasons but… after the health stuff and with watching the dog?? A home gym would be a better idea. Though… the question would definitely be- would it be a better investment? And the answer to that question comes down almost exclusively to a question of finances.

I have requested that Nancy come over on Saturday or, barring that, I’ll start packing for her. She actually admitted, “Oh yeah. I should probably take a box with me whenever I’m over here.” Duh. I mean… I get it. I do. Nancy’s entire existence has been “Take advantage of the hospitality offered to me until it is no longer offered.” I get it. But… my two sides come out on this easily. So much so that I had a full dream last night IN the Two-Face motif. The compassionate side suggests that this is difficult. She has 15 years (more) of belongings to sort through, pack up, move out, and try to determine whether to put them in her apartment, in storage, or back at her parents. The less compassionate side suggests “who gives a fuck?” She has known that something like this was coming for a long time and has now (honestly) had since the end of October/beginning of November to start getting her shit together. The fact that she even still has clothes at your place means she hasn’t done shit. Large furniture? Fine. That could be rationally excused, but fucking clothes? Nah, son. No compassion offered.

As we were discussing the paperwork last night and her getting her shit, she followed up on the money thing again. There was definitely a level of fear in her voice. Which, surprisingly, means that she may OR MANY NOT be getting pressured. I know this girl and fear. All it takes is one thought and fear consumes her. So as she is filling out FAFSA forms for another 2 classes of community college, she is likely thinking “Rent plus Utilities plus Food plus Loans… and I can’t work as much because of classes and taking care of my boyfriend’s kids. Oh my God, I’m going to be poor! How do I stop this?!” I have no doubt that thought crossed her mind. Especially as she is now aware that when the Separation becomes legally binding; she is legally required to cease any and all access to my Bank Account. So… yeah. I can see the beads of sweat forming.

Ah well. One way or the other this Separation will be on the books by the end of the week. Now I just need to find a motherfucking attorney to take my divorce case! A liiiiittle peeved. I mean, I get it. COVID and Derecho and all that. But can you IMAGINE what Chinese Boss would have done to me if I didn’t call a potential client back for weeks? Oh. HELL NO.

So for me today?
(1) Review my Thursday Court Schedule. Thinner than normal. Only two pages (which means 16 hearings).
(2) Take any necessary actions on those hearings
(3) File Charging Documents in 2 separate Death Threat cases and 1 Domestic Abuse
(4) Repair a billing issue for my Energy Bill
(5) Call two more attorney offices for Divorce Representation
(6) If that doesn’t work, contact a Defense Lawyer I respect and request a recommendation
(7) Leave work early to sign Separation papers
(8) THEN TONIGHT… tidy, clean, pick up dog poop, walk the dog, bathe the dog, bathe myself. IF Victoria doesn’t come over. She usually comes over Wednesdays and I have no reason to suspect that she won’t but… she came over Monday night, so I’m not necessarily expecting her to come over. If she does? I just rearrange a little. Dog items take precedent, when those are finished, time with Victoria takes top billing. Then after he leaves, we review how much time is available for cleaning, etc.

It’s funny. I’m doing better as far as “social approach” during this pandemic. I’ve started reaching out to people on various social media platforms to start discussions or conversations. I’ve switched to a dating service where, mutual match or not, I can at least send a message to say something like “Hi! Your profile caught my eye. I’m a big Dr. Who fan, too. What else are you interested in?” So it is good that I have more ability to say, “WHAZZUP” but simultaneously? Oi. It has not translated into any further success. So… who knows what to do with that? I’m not unattractive. I’m not uninteresting. I’m not poorly spoken. I just… can’t seem to interest anyone that doesn’t already know me and already have a partner.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.