Just Words in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Aug. 16, 2020, 1:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will admit that I am kind if in a depressed place right now. Just everything building on itself.

Like… politically? I have progressive friends who keep saying, “fuck voting this year! Biden and Harris are so conservative they may as well be GOP.” Meanwhule, I have conservative colleagues that keep shouting a Biden/Harris presidency guarantees “anarchy, gang violence, abolishing the 2nd Amendment, government sponsored abortions, and outlawing Christianity!” And… I’m just… tired. Like… Trump is actively fucking with a Constitutionally protected government institution AND has said that it is in order to interfere with Mail-In voting! Like… I don’t even care if you stay loyal to the GOP… Trump has spent his entire presidency proving he is corrupt and inept. Why is THIS the hill America is willing to die on?! I don’t get it and it is exhausting!

Then we have the pandemic. Guys… I am tired of it. I think we all are. And you know what?! LOTS of highly populated, 1st world, capitalist nations have done a good job managing the virus. We aren’t one of them. 169,000 deaths and rising. Over 56 times the number of deaths of 9/11. So yeah… I am both understanding of the severity and sick of it all. I want to visit family… I want to catch a movie or go to the bars. And I see hundreds… thousands of people behaving as though there IS no highly contagious virus spreading uncontrolled through the country. So everytime I try to do the right thing… I just feel like the rest of these people are making a mockery of our efforts. Like… I go to the store, I wear a mask, I’m the only one. I go to work, I wear a mask, I’m the only one. It takes an emotional toll. Shit, I would love to pretend I don’t give a shit. There is a new brewery that just opened up in my town. But… I don’t have it in me to be so selfish. And I’m tired of it.

Then we have the divorce. And I honestly want to hear from those who have gone through this. Clearly, a divorce is like a death. During your divorce, did you have family and friends that came to your aid and helped you go through possessions and re-settle your home? Or since it was a divorce, not a death, did that not happen for you? Trying to determine if the lack of family support in this time is normal or strictly COVID-related. Because truthfully? There is a lot of shit to go through… and I could use help. Pictures and possessions alone, not to mention everything else!

On top of that, I have some kind of ridiculous fly infestation. Killed 26 today so far but I can still hear one or two flying around.

So… that’s where I am right now.


Amaryllis August 16, 2020 (edited August 16, 2020)

Edited

I dealt with my divorce mostly by myself because I had no friends or family in the state. The week I actually moved out, my dad flew out to help me physically move stuff and settle in my apt.

hippiechica15 August 16, 2020

I hear you on the first two points. The second one especially, and I am in a state where basically everyone is at least wearing a mask while out!!

stargazing August 16, 2020

I haven't been through a divorce, but my brother has...and we did not help him go through stuff. Now I feel kind of bad that I didn't offer. But have you asked for help? I hear ya about the pandemic. When I go to pick up take out and I see the parking lots full of people, I get mad. Because I'm sitting in my house doing nothing...and all these people are out to eat or just living life like nothing is going on.

Rivercity August 16, 2020

No one helped me sort my stuff. I wouldn't have wanted them to. My parents lent me money, though (about $6,000), which was very helpful (though not enough; I should have asked for more, because they had plenty). I did buy those things that look like coasters that you can slip under your furniture to move it around easily. I lost a lot of the furniture I'd been living with for 27 years. My ex only took one thing (a suitcase) he shouldn't have that I cared about, and I got it back. I was really angry about that suitcase. Do you think N. might claim your stuff? When I was a court reporter, I did a deposition where the couple argued about who would have to take the PC Jr; when my ex divorced his wife-before-me, they got into a quarrel about who would get the stereo speakers, which, apparently, were only worth about $100. My point is, You can always buy more stuff, eventually. That said, I hope you don't have to be the one to buy/find the boxes and rent the truck (if necessary) for her to clear out the rest of her stuff.

Pretend Mulling August 16, 2020

It’s like I’ve been saying: Biden/Harris isn’t perfect, but it’s Not Trump. Let’s get Trump out of the White House, then let’s fix the broken system.

Down the rabbit hole... August 16, 2020

I would think it would be weird to have my family sort through stuff. That's something that the 2 of you should do together. And the sooner the better. And I definitely don't think she deserves half the finances.

Purple Dawn August 17, 2020

Divorce can be a blessing

Catleesi August 17, 2020

I tell my friends or family if they don't vote then they have no right to bitch. They didn't bother doing anything when it counted so don't bitch now.

DE_KentuckyGirl August 17, 2020

no one helped me sort stuff. We split shit and that was that

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.