Experiment in Hello

  • Aug. 11, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve done this since yesterday.
Every time I find the urge to pick up the phone out of boredom, I read a chapter in a book.
The world (especially the U.S.) is a fuckin’ nightmare and I would like a ticket off world for a while.
Speaking of which, I had to stop by the library to update the ol’ resumè (yes, they’re open) and decided to check out the entire seven volume graphic novel series of Star Wars Empire. I’m halfway through book two. It’s a needed distraction.

I’d rather engage in my fantasy space opera then read one more headline.

My soul just can’t fucking take it anymore.

Seriously.

Can the world take like…I dunno, the rest of this year off?

Is there a reset button?

Do we get a do-over?

Please?

“They cannot smell the air of Yavin 4, perfumed by flowers too bizarre to describe. But, as they prepare to jump to hyperspace, they savor the pastel colors of the sun, reflected by the gas giant Yavin, then refracted by the moon’s moist air. These are colors some eyes will never see again.”

-Paul Chadwick
Star Wars Empire Volume Two: Darklighter


Last updated August 11, 2020


Deleted user August 11, 2020

My soul has left the chat. I can't imagine another four and a half years of this.

Helena_ August 11, 2020

Great idea. I love it.

Ferret Mom August 12, 2020

That's a good idea. It would be interesting to try but I doubt I'll ever do it.

I mostly use my phone for pictures and Instagram. It's always on silent and I don't pay much attention to calls, voicemails or texts.

RomanTurtle August 14, 2020

There's a musical where there's a line that says "Stop the world, I want to get off." And I am reminded of it with your wanting a ticket off...me too man, me too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.