Last One For the Day in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • July 22, 2020, 2:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I decided after everything today, I was going to be kind to myself. Just… turn off the outside world… play with my dog, do laundry. The other stuff on my to do list can be taken care of tomorrow. I worked my butt off last night at home and all day at the office today.

But then? I was stupid. And checked my phone. UGH.

Okay, so an etiquette question for you. AITA, if you will.

A friend whose FB privacy settings are ridiculously high (nothing on her page can be shared ever) said something I agreed with. It was not novel nor signature nor unique. It inspired me to write something. If I may illustrate the point vaguely… her post would be
1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9
My post was A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,I,J,K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,6,9.

She is now upset with me for “copy and pasting (her) ideas and passing them off as (my) own.”

Where my AITA comes in is… if she does not want her content shared, and I used her ideas as part of a much larger post covering general reactionary hypocrisy… am I a shit for (1) incorporating her idea into mine; (2) not giving her credit for the two sentences out of 25 that were not STRICTLY my own; (3) or is it more appropriate to say “It was a generic statement on bloody Facebook, get over it!”?


DE_KentuckyGirl July 22, 2020

"A friend posted something that spurred some thoughts that I'd like to share." --- something generic like that is how I generally will go about that. People say things ghat cause us to think on a topic and expand on our own view of it in our own words. I doubt her ideas were unique. If you didnt copy and paste, but just shared your own thoughts that were prompted by something she said, then....that's hardly something to get pissy about, imo. Of course I don't know what the subject was. I suppose if she was posting about a personal situation and then you took part of her personal post to use it in 1% of your post, that could be an issue, depending.

Catleesi DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ July 22, 2020

^Agree.

Always Laughing July 22, 2020 (edited July 22, 2020)

Edited

I think I stopped caring about people because I'd say get over it...usually I wouldn't so now I sit here questioning myself...say something to give them credit if anything is directly theirs but if you feel it's not then I wouldn't worry about it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.