Giving up Vs. Surrendering in Weight Loss Surgery

  • July 8, 2020, 7:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Part of me still feel guilty about going the surgery route for weight loss because it feels like “giving up” on myself.

On a FB page a woman (who I think was 400 lbs) said that she wasn’t “giving up” she was surrendering her battle with weight to a doctor.

I never thought of ‘surrendering’ before. Somehow that feels better than ‘giving up’.

I actually looked up the words to know the real difference and it seems like giving up means you shift your focus to another goal but surrendering doesn’t mean that, you keep your goal in your focus.

In the simplest terms it’s like - say you had to write a paper but your lap top won’t work. Giving up means you walk away from the paper and go do an art project instead. Surrendering would mean you hand write your paper. You still complete the paper, just a different way - you don’t give up on completing the paper and just go on to another project.

And I do believe that surrendering is more of what I am doing than giving up. In fact, it’s what I’ve been doing for a long time. Every time a gym or diet plan didn’t work, I hardly ever gave up completely on wanting to lose weight, I just switched over to another plan with the goal of losing weight still in my mind.

And trying for surgery is just another one of those twists in the road towards finally getting to a healthy weight. I’m surrendering on the plan of me losing weight by myself but I’m not giving up on the goal of losing weight.

I’m so ready to DO THIS.


Last updated December 20, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.