I tend to do most of what needs to be done.

My husband doesn't do much and I've given up fighting it. He grew up in a family where his mom did all the work. This was 50's and 60's, so the stereotype was more that the womens kept the house and took care of the kids but also, she didn't work outside the home either. I've generally taken on the tasks because 1) I want it done by a certain time and in a certain way, not have to continually nag and nag, or walk behind someone to redo it cuz they half ass it and 2) I've largely worked less hours than my husband, who works 60 hours a week, easily and travels a lot. While it's his home too, I feel asking him to contribute too much is a bit unfair as proportionately he is away from the home more than I am; 3) I'm an acts of service person; 4) his standard of what is acceptable is way less than my standard.

When I am working full time, I tend to hire someone to come and do the deep cleaning once a week (sometimes it's been twice a week) because, frankly, when I am working full time, I dont wanna keep up the house either.

Growing up, my dad did a lot and us kids were responsible for many chores when we were old enough. There were 4 of us kids. Even under 10 yrs old, we had a chore list. My mom had a calendar on the fridge dictating whose turn it was for dishes and, on weekends when we were older, we had a list before we could go out (clean bathroom, laundry etc). We wee assigned responsibility of our own laundry around middle school, with appointed days as our own laundry day.