On a Positive Note in These Foolish Things

  • June 4, 2020, 12:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to cover up my most recent entry with a positive one. I desperately need to end today with positive thoughts!

I’m thinking of a road trip for the not-so-distant future. I haven’t decided where yet, but I know I don’t want a solo trip. Enough solo time! Clearly it will have to be someplace within driving distance, and there are many places to go! I’m excited to think about this.

I haven’t forgotten about Operation Upgrade either! Yes, it’s time to move and groove on that. Just thinking that I’m building a plan makes me feel much more free and less confined. Oh, and I left spots on my vision board for better and better images to manifest!

Also! I’ve been sending letters to older lonely folks (see [Charmingly Neurotic]’s entries about this). So far, I’ve sent 22 cards and CN has sent me 15 more names. There’s something so very soothing, almost meditative about hand writing several letters at a time. I’m grateful for this tiny project.

And I ran into my neighbor while I was walking the dog. We are going to meet on the rooftop a little later to have a glass of wine and chat. If we have to have a curfew, we might as well enjoy it.

There. I feel better. Extra special thanks to a private noter who suggested that I think about good things. It worked/helped and I’m grateful for the note.

More good stuff to come,
GS


plushcreep June 04, 2020

Sounds like the perfect antidote to your curfew!

bobbi01 June 04, 2020

There is an ad on the radio at the moment that says we should all think of 10 things we are grateful for everyday. Somedays it's a real struggle but oddly satisfying.

Deleted user June 04, 2020

Please let your readers know if they want names/addresses and info of lonely seniors they can write to, they can email me at: kellykreth@hotmail.com or they can note you and you can pass me the note.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2020

I think you just did :)

But I'll try to mention it again!!

Florentine Ginger Snap ⋅ June 04, 2020

Can I do this with my little girls (8 and 5)? Good writing practice and they are all about giving and receiving mail. Just checking on the perimeters of the program!

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ June 04, 2020

I believe so! What a great idea! I'll ask [CN]. Can you PM me your email and I'll send it to her directly and copy you on the email? Thanks!

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ June 04, 2020

some of the people on my list want cards (written by adults) however, many actually request artwork by children and would be super happy to have little girls write message of cheer.

Here's what I suggest for this:

There are about 200 residents you can send general cards, drawings, etc. to: (the staff will distribute cards to seniors. You can send more than one in a big envelope to the address below.)

Sharon Brooke Assisted Living Residence
920 Sharon Valley Rd
Newark, OH 43055

Another facility collecting and distributing cards is:
Love For The Elderly
P. O. Box 24248
Cleveland, OH 44124

Deleted user Florentine ⋅ June 04, 2020

some of the people on my list want cards (written by adults) however, many actually request artwork by children and would be super happy to have little girls write message of cheer.

Here's what I suggest for this:

There are about 200 residents you can send general cards, drawings, etc. to: (the staff will distribute cards to seniors. You can send more than one in a big envelope to the address below.)

Sharon Brooke Assisted Living Residence
920 Sharon Valley Rd
Newark, OH 43055

Another facility collecting and distributing cards is:
Love For The Elderly
P. O. Box 24248
Cleveland, OH 44124

Florentine Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2020

Thank you! <3

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2020

Awww...thanks for the fast response, CN! I really love this so much!

Deleted user June 04, 2020

Onward and upward. A road trip with a pal sounds like a good prescription!

balancedmom June 04, 2020 (edited June 04, 2020)

Edited

I'm dying for a road trip these days too. Glad you're able to focus on some positives.

Marg June 04, 2020

Planning a road trip sounds like the perfect antidote to all the stress and I love the writing letters project - what a good idea!

Complicated Disaster June 04, 2020

Road trips are the best! And the US is such a good place to do them! :-) xx

Florentine June 04, 2020

I hope you found some pleasure and calm with your rooftop wine. Planning ahead always makes me feel better, too, though sometimes I sneaky spiral and it’s hard to climb back to a place where I can make concrete actions. I love that you are always chasing that positive energy.

Jinn July 01, 2020

Hope you get your road trip !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.