I'ma Subscriber in Life

  • June 3, 2020, 7:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not gonna give up (Beyonce anyone?)

As we continue to watch American society crumble and head toward Civil War 2 I’ve found my anxiety peaking (Something I imagine a lot of you can relate to) so the other day when I was sittin’ and thinkin’ I realized that no matter how ‘good’ of a creator of stories or fantasy that I may be, there’s gonna be people who need a bit of an escape and I might be their best shot in supplying them with that escape.

So I’ve started to bust my bones to get DnD back up and running with my online group again. Although there was a bit of drama surrounding that yesterday, here’s the story.

My DnD Group is composed of 5 people, 4 of which came from a server for a different game, Minecraft (Maybe you’ve heard of it) but eventually we grew beyond that MC Server and created our own discord group for the DnD so that we didn’t have to worry about being under the umbrella of the MC discord.

Well. Yesterday someone new to the MC server was like “Hey… is this still a thing orrrrr?” and the Owners of the Discord server hunted us all down and got us into a chat to dress us down about how she allowed us to use their discord to play dnd and expand the community and a bunch of other oddly worded stuff.

It really rubbed a few of us the wrong way, particularly me and the one other guy that wasn’t from the server to begin with so that stirred up the bee’s nest and eventually led to me stepping in and being all “Y’know what, ignore that, we’ve been playing for 2 years without them even noticing we’re missing so forget about that” and then I went into the MC discord and was all like “Hey, Who wants to play, I’ll run another campaign, but also there was this mental break down thing so I don’t know I’ll be feeling up to it again” So I’ve shoveled that onto my plate too.

I’ve no idea what to expect but if I can convince myself that I’m championing a cause to get people to have some fun rather than focus on all the doom and gloom of the world then maybe that’s a good thing.

Also, it’s difficult, as a Canadian, because I realize that a lot of the world is doing just fine, but the world is somewhat Americentric right now because it’s a giant dumpster fire.

I look out my window every morning and tell myself “The world is not on fire, everything is fine”


DE_KentuckyGirl June 03, 2020

Media can create a picture of everything being a certain way. Things are bad, yes. However, the images being seen are mostly contained to urban downtown areas of a city. Most of those area are not in chaos.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 05, 2020

Yasss! The Media can twist and turn it however they want to keep the eyes on their channel. It's a sick marketing scheme but my father once said "The minute news began being used for Propaganda in the war, it was no longer about information" and that's always stuck with me.

DE_jar of hearts June 08, 2020 (edited June 08, 2020)

Edited

The destruction was confined to one small area of Minneapolis. I'm from the lowe part of Minnesota and have friends up there. It's bad. But not that bad.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_jar of hearts ⋅ June 08, 2020

The media has a way of making situations seem bigger and badder than they are eh?

DE_jar of hearts DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 09, 2020

Oh definitely! I make that statement all the time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.