Anaiss May 30, 2020

Camo is not my thing. Never had any hunters in the family, never had brothers or sons. My SIL is so far removed from being interested in hunting (which I associate with camo) that I would eat a camo jacket if I found out he went hunting. And I never understood why people who ARE into hunting (or maybe they're just into camo) want to wear it all the time and I hate seeing little kids wearing it because I do associate it with hunting and killing. BUT, that being said, to each his own. They probably don't care for my style either. And I am a meat eater and as far as I know that is an animal that was killed. So I'm trying to be, I don't know.... non-judgmental here? (Even though as I say, I hate camo!).

woman in the moon Anaiss ⋅ May 31, 2020

I bought myself a pair of camo pants and wore them to death because they were one of two pants that I could get into at the time.
We are not hunters either. My father would quote his mother who said it was best to leave the wild stuff for the Indians. I couldn't find her year of birth but her husband my grandfather was born in 1861 so there might have been some Indians around then.
The pink camo for girls always strikes me as what? Title 9?
Hunting for the Indians and others was of course a fact of life, a skill, a discipline, perhaps something to be admired. Have you ever read about African big game hunters? Hemingway had a fetish.
I think we would be better off vegetarian or vegan, but livestock farming has been a part of my life back many generations. Right now the spring crop of calves - we had a good year = why I do not know? - are flourishing and I know it's evil to say so but they are having grand lives. The end of their lives will not be grand, but then the end of any life is painful and harsh. For some reason God set things up that way.
Bless you and all the remaining meat eaters. Otherwise I would not have the joyous calves. Daughterinlaw plans to spend time on her next visit out in the pasture 'taming' one.

Purple Dawn May 30, 2020

No, No, please don't show my future SIL.. lol

thesunnyabyss May 31, 2020

my son would love that, lol

Marg May 31, 2020

It’s camo short for camouflage?

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ May 31, 2020 (edited May 31, 2020)

Edited

Yes. I'd almost forgotten the war connection. It's hunters here - I think the camo is different for hunters, more forest concealment than the recent desert wars we have been having. I saw a documentary about the Japanese interned in the Western US during WWII. The women were weaving camouflage nets - threading strips of fabric through the holes in the big nets - used I suppose to cover military equipment = perhaps during the leadup to D-Day when we didn't want the Germans to know what we were up to. One of the women was interviewed much later and said she enjoyed doing it and it lead her into a life long hobby/interest in weaving.

Marg woman in the moon ⋅ June 01, 2020

That's really interesting - a definite positive coming from something pretty negative! It was the hunting bit which was confusing me - that's why I wanted to check I was reading it right!

Just Annie May 31, 2020

Um, no thank you. But it's nice to know that option is out there for those who want it.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ May 31, 2020

I wonder if camo wedding rings relate to the idea that men like blondes because they are easier to find in the dark.

Anaiss May 31, 2020

I didn't even think about camo in relation to war. Another perspective. But I still don't get people wearing it as a big part of their wardrobe.

noko June 02, 2020

There was a big camo thing in exercise wear a few years back. I find that fascinating. It is apparently a political thing. Like Q-anon.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ June 03, 2020

And masks. They are political too. Crazy world we live in. And part of it's our own fault.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ June 03, 2020

Absolutely.

Beret June 04, 2020

I'd have to pass on that.

Serin June 04, 2020

It's not my thing, but for me, it's more about the material than the pattern anyway.

The bigger problem I see with a camo wedding ring is how to find it again after you take it off. ;)

Jinn June 27, 2020

They sure are ugly .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.