RAD: Ken Doll in These Foolish Things

  • May 29, 2020, 8:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was a HELL of a day. First, the nervousness of waiting, waiting, W.A.I.T.I.N.G. for the phone call from the office telling me I have my old job back come mid-June. THEN, being mugged in broad daylight next door to my building (I have soooooo much more to write about this. I’m going to really need to work this one out in my brain). THEN, I was so rattled and shaken that, even though a new Hinge dude and I were discussing a social-distanced meeting for lunch, it fell through, so I asked this potential date if he could possibly come to my area a little later to walk with me while I walk my dog. I was too scared to go alone and it turned out to be a decent date, all things considered.

Name: Ken Doll

Introduction Platform: Hinge

Age: 49

Relationship Status: Divorced several years. Two kids, 18-yo girl and 15 or 16-yo boy

Job: Real Estate Guy

Lives: In a city that’s too far away! But he’s here in my city probably 50% of the time. Unbeknownst to me, after our evening, he drove 3.5 hours home…which means he got home at approximately 2:30am!! Yikes.

Length of Date: 5 ½ hours

We Did: He came to my hood and walked the dog with me. We stopped on the other side of the park and sat socially-distanced on a patio and drank a few drinks and then shared a shrimp quesadilla. He walked me and the dog back home and left. I didn’t ask him if he was staying in town, I just let him leave without a clue that he was driving hours home!

He Looked: He looks like a Ken Doll. That’s the only way to describe him. He’s tall, blond, beautiful teeth, looks like an All-American dude. He was wearing a golf shirt and shorts and flip-flops that scraped the sidewalk as he shuffled along (pet peeve of mine - pick up your feet!)

I Looked: What I wore to the mugging (because I thought I was going to have a lunch date): camo capris, off-the-shoulder black flowy top partly tucked into camo pants, chunky-heeled sandals, NO jewelry (thank goodness, I have stopped wearing jewelry for the time being)

Convo: Lots of mugging talk and even some talk of me getting my job back. Talk of his job and his kids and what we both like to do during non-Covid times.

High Point: Feeling the relief and protection of having someone walk the dog with me. Plus, he’s a looker!

Low Point: My eyes glazed over when he was talking about foreclosures. Never having been a homeowner and no real desire to become one at this point in my life, I don’t get any of that stuff.

How It Ended: We finished our quesadilla and drinks and he walked me home. We “air hugged” and called it a night. I think I was drunk.

Chances Are: Not sure. I think he may have actually expected more than an air hug at the end of our initial meeting, but that’s what he got. He didn’t ask me if I wanted to see him again, but he’s a really nice guy and I would definitely see him again if he asks. This could go either way. I’m guessing the chance of him asking me out again is 50%??? He may have been completely freaked out by my mugging story and think that I’m a drama queen or something? I mean, who knows?

Date Rating: A- . I think this was my first Covid-19 date, and it was perfectly lovely if not perfectly WEIRD like everything else in 2020.


Nash May 29, 2020

"What I wore to the mugging" cracked me up. There is a marketing idea for you to work on. :)

Deleted user May 29, 2020

"...then shared a shrimp quesadilla." That doesn't seem safe in the Time of Covid. I would have been freaking out.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ May 29, 2020 (edited May 29, 2020)

Edited

It was already cut in half and we had separate plates. I mean, it's as safe as getting takeout. Neither one of us touched anything the other had touched. But I get how sharing a plate might sound iffy.

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ May 29, 2020

I meant having your mask off for an extended period of time. The food was heated so fine -- just like take out but having someone nearby breathing near my plate - nope.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ May 29, 2020

Oh. Right. I get it. Yeah, I can only say that my plate was close to me and his was close to him and we were totally socially distanced, but I understand the concern. I felt like we/food were separated enough. I know I'm not a scientist or a doctor, but it felt safe enough to be outside like that.

Complicated Disaster May 29, 2020

Whooooooooo! Good times! xx

Kate May 29, 2020

"What I wore to the mugging" is a pretty funny line. I hope you never have to use it again!

Deleted user May 29, 2020

Congrats! You bounce back like a tennis ball from everything - muggings, job issues... nothing is going to keep you down! (thumbs up emoji that I can't do since I'm on a real laptop ATM)

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ May 29, 2020

Hahah. I don't know how HIGH I bounce back, but yeah, I do tend to get back up over and over and over, don't I? I mean, what choice do I have?

plushcreep May 29, 2020

Hopefully if you do see him again and things progress, he's not like a Ken doll all over...

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ May 29, 2020

🤣🤣🤣

Marg May 29, 2020

What I wore to the mugging - such a classic line! Date sounds good though and it’s nice he was willing to do all that driving and not make any big deal about it.

Bre M May 29, 2020

Mugging sounds very scary. I would worry my Shiatzu would go after the mugger and get hurt badly as she weight all of anout 14 pounds but is extremely protective of me. Sounds like it was a good date.

pandora May 30, 2020

Your outfit sounds awesome. Glad it was a nice date - and props to him for not complain about the long drive afterwards! Ha.

bobbi01 May 31, 2020

There's the covid silver lining, it has paused that awkward "shall we kiss or not" moment.

Jinn July 02, 2020

Too bad he did not pan out :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.