Things that are dumb in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • May 27, 2020, 1:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just saw a headline about the Dog Walker that read
“Woman has entire life ruined for not putting on a mask”

And it’s like… wow. JfuckingC. I get that all media intentionally warps shit in one way or another but DAMN is that way more than just “slight bias or agenda”!

The woman IS having her life ruined, and we can argue the morals of that at a later time, but not because of “COVID MASK ISSUES.” What she did do was call the police and fabricate a report because she was afraid of the black man watching birds who dared to speak to her. What happened should be called out because she broke the law and did so in an attempt to (best case scenario) have a person falsely arrested or (worst case scenario) have an innocent person killed.

But sure. Keep telling your racist, alt-right, MAGA worshiping asshole readers that this “brave white woman” is being “unfairly lambasted by left wing social media” because she “refused to wear a face mask” during this “COVID hoax.” Fuck.


J.E. May 27, 2020

hippiechica15 May 27, 2020

WOW that is...a disgusting way to twist this story AND to ignore a racist act. I haven't actually watched the video but she has a mask on in some stills...so that obv wasn't the issue...

Wrennie May 27, 2020

I can't. I'm so angry. I give up.

DE_KentuckyGirl May 27, 2020 (edited May 27, 2020)

Edited

What organization spun that? Every story I've seen on it says nothing at all about masks. And I've seen the story from both sides of the political aisle. Even the most staunch ultra right leaning people I know have condemned this women's actions. She deserved everything that has happened to her.

Just asking cuz I put that headline into google and found nothing on it but lots of headlines alluding to the actual story. Makes me wonder if it's one of those crazy alternative sites.

Park Row Fallout DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ May 27, 2020

Very well could be! And I'm REALLY glad that the ultra right people you know have condemned this woman. I get a lot of depression from living in Steve King country, I think. The only minorities most Iowans around here see are Hispanic and everyone immediately assumes they are "illegals". We don't interact with black communities enough for many to see them as anything other than "criminals and dope peddlers" because their only exposure is via TV. Not all of Iowa, thank God, but in my neck of the woods.

DE_KentuckyGirl Park Row Fallout ⋅ May 27, 2020

I believe Iowa's black population is like 4%, less than KY and ours is low too (8% I think). I was always told it was because we were a border state during slavery, with many escaping to the North through KY. I would imagine the western midwest has even less.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.