Emotional Rollercoaster in My life....I can't make this shit up!

  • May 15, 2020, 7:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today has been an absolute emotional roller coaster for me! The morning started out fine considering I didn’t get much sleep last night (not unusual). I had a bit more anxiety because my boss had scheduled a phone supervision with me for today, which is unusual because in the almost 2 years I’ve worked with her, we’ve not had an official supervision. We talk daily and whenever I have any client or staff issues it’s addressed immediately and I when we are in the office I have trainings practically every day. I’ve applied for a new certification so I figured that’s what she wanted to talk about.
Cam didn’t have that much school work to do today so I convinced him to get it done early so he could go to my parents house and take apart his broken hoverboard. He was all about that. He knocked his stuff out in less than an hour! Why can’t every day be like that? There are days where it takes 6 hours and lots of yelling to get him to do his work. Boys. sheesh.
I was supposed to have a phone meeting at 10 which I knew wasn’t going to be long so I figured once that was over we could go. 10 rolled around and no call. 10:15, 10:30, nothing. So Cam and I got in the car and of course, halfway to mom’s house the phone rings. I convince her to call me at 11. Dropped off Cam and came right back home to finish the meeting. I still had about an hour until my supervision so I started doing some other work when I noticed it was getting warm. Our AC is always set between 71 and 73, I looked at the thermostat, which was still set at 71 from last night but the temperature of the room was 76. I turned the unit off for 20 minutes then back on. Nothing. Shit. I text Brian so he can text the landlord.
Then I went into the bathroom and saw the tub had not drained from Cam’s shower this morning. Double Shit! This is not how I had planned on starting my birthday weekend.
So, off with the AC again and into the bathroom with the plunger to get the water to drain. After that glorious work out I poured the Draino (vein attempt, I’m aware.) I tried the AC again. Nothing. Shit Shit Shit. I went out side and looked at the unit. I don’t know why I did that. I know nothing about air conditioners. I guess I was checking to see if there was a puddle around the unit, or maybe a dead critter inside or something. In my frustration I gave it a swift kick and came back inside.
It’s now 12:30, time for my supervision. I called my boss and she whispers she’s busy and will call me in five minutes. Not unusual for her, I figured she was on her other phone on another conference call. In another vein attempt I turned the AC back on and HOLY FUCKING SHIT IT TURNED ON!!!! WOOHOO!!
I sat back down and Minnie started going crazy in the window. I look outside and there’s my boss and my co-workers driving up the road with balloons, signs, etc. My own little birthday parade! I was so happy, and surprised. My birthday is tomorrow and at work we always go all out for birthdays. Decorating doors and offices, we have a big lunch brought in by one of our drug reps and we get a big cake. It’s great! I was a little bummed that I wasn’t going to get the typical celebration, because I like my job, and my co works. We’re a dysfunctional family.
That nice surprise was just what I needed this morning.
My AC is still blowing nice cold air (I guess it needed a good swift kick in the ass). It’s nice and cool inside and it’s a dreary day outside thanks to that tropical mess off the coast. If I weren’t working I’d take a snoozical.
Tonight it’s just Brian and I. Normally we’d go to a nice restaurant for a nice celebratory dinner, but that’s not happening. Maybe we’ll get take out and find some bad movie on Netflix or Prime. Date night in, I guess.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.