Twitter Sized: Cancel in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • May 10, 2020, 3:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The last of the events of my year has been cancelled. Officially. I knew it was coming and therefore only grieve the announcement. In my heart, I knew it was not to be. But beware:

Those protesting STAYING SAFE AND SLOWING THE SPREAD OF A VIRUS are doing so out of anger and a desire to feel control over their lives. But a sleeping dragon awakens. My year was planned. Finish the marital separation. Travel the midwest to visit friends and family. Go to The Lake for a week. Go to Canada for a week. Go to AnimeIowa. Go to Japan for 10 days. Go to Colorado to visit friends and family. ALL of that has been cancelled. In it’s place? Working. Working hard. The path of work hard with no opportunity for play hard. The kind of path that brings fatigue without passion to flare the soul. Which is why I issued the warning. MY passions and fun and my plan for coping with my separation have all been canceled for this year. At best, postponed to 2021. FOR EVERY ASSHOLE THAT DEMANDS WE ALLOW THIS VIRUS TO SPREAD SO THAT THEY CAN GET A HAIR CUT, GO BOWLING, GET A TATTOO, OR “FIGHT THE CONSPIRACY”… you threaten my 2021. If everyone stayed home and wore masks in public and everyone with even slight symptoms was tested… 14 days after the last confirmed case, we’d be able to look forward to things again. But that isn’t the world we live in. We live in a world where despite the White House staff being tested every day, symptoms or not… many people WITH symptoms still can’t get tested. We live in a world where, even as more and more cases are reported and death tolls of mere months outpace the death tolls of wars that lasted years… people spread conspiracy and the language of “hoax.” We live in a world where Elon Musk will stay at home for the rest of the year while demanding that his laborers get back to work. And here’s what I promise. If your war to reopen because “fuck the poor” and “my convenience matters” means this shit spreads into 2021 and begins to cancel everything for that year? Then my war will start. My war against you and your kind. Because something that COULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED BY NOW (see also New Zealand and South Korea) was allowed to spread and last due to the incompetence of the Toddler in Chief and his supporters within the government and without. If I have to shift my focus from helping my community to stopping you… believe that none of us will enjoy that moment.


Last updated May 10, 2020


Always Laughing May 11, 2020

I am sorry the last of your plans were cancelled. I know how important it is to have something positive to look forward to.

Park Row Fallout Always Laughing ⋅ May 11, 2020

Thank you. That has actually really been the biggest hit for me in all of this. I can work through the difficulties of COVID restrictions and I can keep working full time; but with nothing to look forward to... there's this reverberating echo of "why bother?" Like... if there's nothing to interrupt all of this, why keep pushing?

Always Laughing Park Row Fallout ⋅ May 12, 2020

Perhaps you can formulate a new plan. Things are beginning to open up again which I know you are against at least in your writing it feels you think it is too soon, but hopefully by late fall/winter things will be better so maybe try to plan something for then. I know it isn't the same, but it might give you something to look forward to.

Wrennie May 11, 2020

Me too, boo. Those fuckers out protesting are fucking with MY liberty and MY freedom (sometime in the future, when we have a vaccine), and I am most assuredly taking notes.

Park Row Fallout Wrennie ⋅ May 11, 2020

Yeah. People are out there screaming about their rights... but I think of it like war time strategy. Is this the soldier asking to be on the battlefield or the Desk General whining that his underlings aren't dying enough for his glory. If these people are out there because THEY want to get back to work, that is one thing. If they are out there because they want OTHER people to get back to work to serve them? That's something else entirely.

Deleted user May 12, 2020

I never realised people were so obsessed with haircuts until this pandemic hit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.