Broken in Bittersweet

  • May 9, 2020, 6:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My 8 year old L was playing on the hoverboard. After being told several times not to play in the house on it. So he falls. hits the table on the way down. Broke his arm really well. The bones arent aligned. At least its only through one bone in the arm. Its about 2 inches above his wrist and hes going to need to be casted. They said likely to his shoulder to stop him from rotating the arm. He hit his food too, or twisted when he fell. They couldent rule out a fracture so hes now in a walking boot. Hes fairly stoned at the moment. I gave him some CBD candies ( they are for kids) and some CBD rub. I know they say its not supposed to actually get them stoned, But i tried the candies and i felt it. So I gave him half. His eyes are a bit glassy but he can walk and talk clearly. hes not complaining about pain. You can bitch if you like, its legal here and as his parent i made a choice to give him something for the pain seeing motrin wasnt helping much.

Hes really bummed, Its been SO nice here and is in the 70s this week, Thankfully cooled down from 90s last week haha. But now he cant ride his bike for 4-6 weeks depending on when they cast him. Ill find out monday.

My oldest broke his arm a few years ago but it was a buckle fracture and only needed a brace seeing he was a teenager they trusted him not to reinjure himself. L is only 8. Hes not going to be as careful. I told him he could sleep in the living room in the arm chair so he can not toss and turn in bed or have to go down stairs to sleep. Bathroom is upstairs and living room is in the middle. So one set of small stairs is better. There isnt anywhere for him to sleep upstairs or i would do that. It is what it is. I swung by and got him some slip on sandals today so that he can put a shoe on without needing help or struggling. I guess ill hear back on Monday what to do next. We gotta call a pediatric orthopedist to get his arm casted and what to do about his food.

Good job L you get out of chores for the next month. Oh and mom fetches you food now…


❤️vee May 09, 2020

I work in an orthopedic urgent care, we start seeing a lot of broken bones in children now through August, and again November through January for adults. We call them our "fracture seasons"

ChainedChrysalis ❤️vee ⋅ May 09, 2020

Oh i believe it. They are more active, getting outside and doing things. Nov through Jan tells me people hanging up christmas lights haha
Its our first break. But hes doing ok.

❤️vee ChainedChrysalis ⋅ May 09, 2020

well, that and slips/falls on the ice or snow (I live in Minnesota)

ChainedChrysalis ❤️vee ⋅ May 09, 2020

Ahh true. Im from Alaska. I wrenched my back more then a few times on the ice.

Jinn May 21, 2020 (edited May 21, 2020)

Edited

I broke my arm falling when I was pregnant with Blake . I had to go to a pediatric orthopedist because of the type of fracture it was. It took over two months to heal and it hurt . So sorry about your little boy :-(

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ May 21, 2020

He had to have it reset yesterday. God that was awful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.