Bonding in Life

  • May 4, 2020, 9:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to Chris’ house again last night. I’ve gone there the last few times, and I’d really like him to spend time at my house and fall in love with the beach town I live in, but it ended up being really great that I went, because his daughter hung out with us. He left us alone to pick what we wanted to eat for dinner, and he was surprised to find us chatting when he got back. She hung out talking to us for the next hour or so, just sitting on his bedroom floor, and then we watched tv together quietly for a while. It was nice. His kids have been through a lot and it would mean a lot to me to be someone they can rely on someday.

We had a great night, I slept over (we technically have curfew in NJ so we’re not really supposed to be on the road at night) and I snuck out this morning to come back home to work (a bit later than usual though because I was pretty comfy and we went to sleep pretty late). He texted me later and said “I can’t remember being this happy.”

Comments like that make me feel a lot better about this imaginary competition I feel with his exes. lol.

Headed back tomorrow morning, he’s about 45 minutes from my house, but only about 20 mins from where I work usually- which is where I grew up. My best friend is having a bday parade for her little one and I wanted to head up there for that anyway, so made sense to spend the day at his place first and then head up for the car parade. I’ve been heading to his house once a week during the week to spend a few morning hours with him while working, and then he goes to sleep and I just hang out reading and working.

Hoping I’m not feeling quite so melancholy after the birthday parade this time- I had one for an adult friend last week that had me crying… can only imagine it will feel even more bittersweet to see my little buddy’s face and not be able to touch her or spend time with her.


DE_KentuckyGirl May 05, 2020

Sounds like it's moving along nicely!

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ May 05, 2020

So great! How are you feeling?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.