Do good in Secrets of a crafty witch

  • May 2, 2020, 10:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This isnt one of those. stroke my ego things. Seriously not trying to stoke my ego.

I was asked to do two awesome projects! First one, i knit and crochet and spin an all that stuff. I signed on to be a tester for a designers patterns and she has asked me to be the offical photographer for her patterns! All the money she makes donates back to cancer centers in the name of the person the pattern is named for! Its really awesome. I wasnt able to really afford to buy the patterns so i got into being a tester! And this is like awesome. I get to photograph my work which i did anyway and she can use them as the cover photos. And because i am good at what i do, they sell! So im doing my part in helping to raise donations for cancer centers. After loosing a friend to cancer. I feel like im doing something that helps. And i mean, yeah i get to keep the blanket but maybe ill join her in auctioning off my finished works and donate the money as well.

My other do good project! Right when i came down south i was introduced to a girl who runs a rescue, and by girl i mean, shes 19ish. Shes a rodeo queen. And shes in a wheelchair ( part time) from an auto immune disorder. Different one then i have but really this KID manages a damn farm animal rescue! Yes she lives with her parents but she does all the work to find sponsors for the feed, raise money ect. Shes a sweet kid. I went to her farm and photographed several of her new animals for her. To help them find homes. So that was fun, I got to photograph some alpacas and a MINI COW! Some piggies and a bunch of other critters. Some were life long loves and some were up for adoption. She said i could possibly borrow one of her many mini ponies for a unicorn but now the country is shut down. ANYWHOOZLE! She asked me last week if i would be willing to spin the roving from her alpacas and llamas. She said i could keep half of it and the spun goes back to her farm store to raise money for her farm. Honestly i have a shit ton of alpaca that was given to me and i probably wont keep half of it. Its already cleaned and processed into roving and i love that while i cant just send her money to help her farm, I CAN spin her wool for her and she can sell it. I asked her what she wants and she didnt know. So i figured ill spin some solid colors, mix them up, do some two plies, some spiral ply. Kinda make a verity of yarn. And hey maybe ill see if she wants to list some of my angora wool and let her keep half of anything that sells too. She does have an angora but im not sure if she lets him grow wool out much or if she just keeps it shaved.

Im not writing about it to brag that im totally awesome and get kudos for my good deeds. Im writing about it because im really excited! Im excited that someone thinks my photography is good enough to raise money for her cause! Im excited that someone thinks my spinning skills are good enough to raise money for her farm! Im excited that someone out there thinks something i do can help something bigger then me. I keep getting bombarded with if you have to brag you are doing it for the wrong reason. And ill totally admit i feel damn proud that my skills are of use to someone. I may be a crappy friend, a depressed bipolar person who is just trying to muddle through. But damn it i have two skills that are of use to someone. And that does feel good.


Jinn May 03, 2020

This is exciting and I am glad you are finding something you are excited about .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ May 03, 2020

Thanks! cant wait to share the photos :D :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.