The highlights for the last few days in Second 1st

  • April 27, 2020, 3:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Destiny called me seemingly randomly to ask me my opinion on a book title for her book of poetry. She’s been writing it her whole life when the moments hit her. She’s always asked my opinion on every poem. I’ve always told her they were good even if I really didn’t think so. If I could find any line in them that struck a true cord ..... which I always could. She’s always wanted to be published and I’m not going to ever be the person who tells her she can’t. Poetry is so subjective though. It’s not like a novel, there is no need for a plot. She called to tell me she’d turned them into an agency and will hear something about it by Wednesday. I encourage this… I would hate for her to not try and never know. The guy she spoke to said there is a pretty good chance because she has a lot of poems ..... 55 or so.... he said most people who are trying to get poetry published send in like 5. So, he didn’t think there would be any issues except that she has no title for her book. So she called me to ask my opinion.... on the spot like that I had nothing for her. She said she was thinking Life, Love, Heartbreak. Which honestly I like. It’s like Live, Laugh, Love only.... more true.

I did not spend the weekend drunk. I did have a couple shots of sour apple pucker to replace dinner Saturday.

I spent the weekend playing Animal Crossing and when the battery needed a charge I watched Tiger King. I really only wanted to watch it because I’ve seen a huge amount of memes about that (for the entertainment) getting us through (the pandemic) together...... whatever. Thankfully it was only 8 episodes so I’m done with it. It was not worth my time and they can all go to hell..... even Carol Baskin… lol.

Rocky worked this weekend. He said they are now wearing masks-provided by work. They get 2 a day. When they come in first thing in the morning their temperature is taken and they get a dated card. They take that to security and get a mask before they can clock in. They get another mask after lunch. ..... I hate that he had to go but I love having the house to myself. It was nice to not have to think about making food for him that he wouldn’t eat. I lot less fuss a lot more nothing. sigh..... Here we are at Monday again though.

Talked to Sammy Friday?.... Saturday?.... said he got his unemployment and the CARES ACT money that goes with that but he was going to look into not going back to work. His job opens back up today but he doesn’t want to go..... who would. He was working in a doggie daycare it’s a nice job really BUT why would you want to go to work 12 hour days and working as much as you can because you aren’t going to school so you want to try to get ahead..... but get paid far less than you would while everyone else sits at home for 600+their unemployment. Honestly think that’s going to be an issue as our governor said “If you fear going back to work then don’t.”..... This is a right to work state. That means if you fear going back to work and don’t you’ll be fired. They will replace you. They are not going to hold your job until the world gets better. However, he’s a kid. It’s not like doggie daycare was going to be the last job he will ever have. So I suggested he take a look at how many weeks he has benefits and if he was technically fired or furloughed. Rocky thinks it’s going to fuck up schooling big time because the longer he’s on unemployment the more it’s going to screw with FAFSA as an income.

Sammy said that if they have to do online classes next semester he’s taking a semester off. Told me the didn’t learn anything these last few weeks. He just googled answers during one of his exams and he doesn’t even feel bad about it because he didn’t learn anything in that class..... next semester he’s signed up for a rather key class and he “just can’t” learn stuff that way. We talked about how that would effect his RA position and he said right now they (the school) are treating it like it’s gonna happen. He’s got one more month on his current lease and before he’d gotten off the phone he said he needed to start some packing. Either he’ll be moving into the dorm or he’ll be moving back in here. Easily honest we both hope the RA position stays on and school is back to “normal” this coming semester.

All that being said.... Rocky wants to take a normal outing today. At least actually go into a store to buy groceries today. We’ve ordered a couple things on the Walmart app that he “just know”s they have that they keep saying are out of stock or.... like we ordered a bottle of dishwasher stuff and went a size larger than we usually would. I put no substitutions and they said out of stock. Rocky said “honestly I don’t think they carry it in that size there”. .... not detergent but .... booster. We will have masks but honestly I’m looking forward to it a bit. Just to look around for a moment. I know we are moving into a new “normal” but I need something to symbolize a transition. With Rocky being around people at work anyway.... keeping apart seems like a futile effort.

We haven’t been around other people since the 19th of last month really. I’m not even sure this will count.... being as it won’t be social at all and I’m sure we will walk too fast for it to be “nice”.

I’ve been meaning to type out what happened at the Thursday D&D (online) ..... I just haven’t really felt like typing.... even now.... I just know if I don’t get this all out I’ll forget.

Woke at 2:45..... been up an hour now. .... I think I’m going to lay back down for a bit.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.