Lofty dreams... and possibilities in Bittersweet

  • April 21, 2020, 6:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My parents brought up once again, them moving and us taking over the house for them. My dad is looking at working in either Montana ( 12 hrs) or Alaska ( and living in Washington or Oregon) Seeing T has a good job here 10 minutes away, they wanted to gauge our interest of taking over the house should they leave. They were worried we would feel like they were taking off and leaving them after we just came here. First off no. If they want to live in montana or on the coast to be closer to work. We 100% get that. We want to live in Oregon too! We only really came here because they were here.
But the short answer is yes. We would take over the house. Either A buy it from them, or B make the mortgage payments. My mom would prefer we buy it because then they could buy a camper to live in. Although that wont work for Montana haha. Where they go depends on what job he takes. Colorados stay at home order expires on Sunday and the governor wont renew it. So Colorado is opening back up. Im reading other states are as well. Which means he can get a physical and go to the Alaska job very soon. Montana is up in the air a wee bit i guess.

So plans…
I dont want to live long term in Colorado. It wasnt my dream place. Oregon always has been. Colorado was my stepping stone. Except T dosent want to rent a place. So its like what, Buy here, sell here, buy there? Or what. But if we just pay the mortgage on this place we stay here for a while. A year, a couple years? Its not property at all. But its a nice fairly large house in a good neighborhood. Boarded to the back by a highschool and a elementary school 6 houses down at the end of the road. Im 5 minutes to walmart, or safeway, gas stations ect. Without my parents and my sister here. The house would be a great size. It has 2 living rooms, and a front room ( my current room) 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen,garage.

So our thoughts for the house working for our larger family. Turn the front room into a actual room ( wall it off, its got a curtain now for me) Teenagers room. Upstairs the master room would be ours, Put husbands office stuff on one side. Its a huge room lol. Smaller room next door for little girl. It has a balcony like the master. But no stairs down so she could have doll parties on the porch and be safe. Bathroom is next to her room. Main floor would be teenagers room, I wanted to take some space from that to make the entry big enough and add in a built in or something for coats ect. There is a very small hall closet there. Then the kitchen and sunroom ( living room) wouldent change, except maybe rip out the carpet and put in hardwood. Then the bottom floor ( its a split tri level) has a large family room with a fireplace, a bedroom and a bathroom as well as the utility closet. So we would make the family room into 2 rooms and prob rip out the corner fireplace. Takes a lot of space up. Maybe put an electric fireplace in the living room? So i have 3 boys left. Either A, give each one a bedroom, or B, put the two smallers in one room, the older boy in his own and use the actual bedroom for a play space/game room. It has the attached bath and utility room. If we did buy it. In 2 years my teen can move out. When he did, i would move my 13 YO into that room and each kid would have their own room. The yard is a good size. Just needs some rearranging for my tastes. I love all the roses. Maybe plant more along the back fence behind the fruit trees. The yard is big enough for the two dogs and the buns. Currently it has 5 dogs lol. A trampoline, swing set, fire pit, greenhouse, shed, carport ( where my rabbits are being moved to) and landscaping. Roses along the walls, a big apple tree near the back porch, peach and pear near the fence. All i would do is move things around a bit, relocate the fire pit. No idea if my sister is going to take her greenhouse she just put up, when she leaves or not. My mom said shes got to grow up sooner or later… mother shes 24… married and adopted two kids. Stoner or not, shes got to grow up NOW.

Again, its up in the air. Its just my thought process for what i would do if this comes to play. I can use the sunroom even though its in the back of the house. For studio work. I call it a sunroom for a reason, 2 sliding glass doors and 2 floor to ceiling windows, plus 2 skylights. Its very sunny. Not that i do much studio work. But still, as an option.

Frankly i like this house quite a bit. But i want property! I want to be able to have a barn for my bunnies where i can keep the ambient air temp under 80. So i can have a couple sheep or alpacas and a mini pony for a unicorn again. Lots of fruit trees, berries, chickens, maybe a peacock to sscare my neighbors with their funky screaming lol. Wouldnet mind a stream running through it, where i can sit by it and spin or knit in the silence and listen to the birds.... And smelling the ocean if possible…

little dreams. I do feel like nothing ever happens as im nearing 36 and wondering when we will get there. a couple more years? Or do we just change the settings and look here? stay here a bit then move to oregon and call it? I dont know whats going to happen.... One thing i know i dont want to do. Is have a child graduate and then move, and leave them behind. Because my parents moved when i was 23 and i felt so much like they left me behind when they moved my younger siblings here.... Even though i was an adult with 2 kids you know… I dont want my kids to feel that we left them behind.

Anyway gotta go, the wrist is hurting, lighting is flashing. First storm of the season here :)


Jinn April 23, 2020

So what will happen with your Grandpa and sister if they move ?

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ April 23, 2020

Grandpa will be going with them, or to a home facility that can help care for him better. My sister is on her own according to my mother. Time to grow up and move out. She sent her links for section 8 housing today.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ April 23, 2020

That is so good ! I know Grandpa worried you but you are so good to him. ❤️
Your sister needs to start coping ; no one can house her and her family indefinitely . Things should get easier for you .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.