The new crew in Tales from a Rabbit Breeder

  • April 19, 2020, 4:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Rabbit breeder word vomit.

So i got three new angoras on the way.
A magpie
Harli buck
Torted Harli doe.

Meet Domino
alt text

And Tamora

alt text

I dont have a photo of Briar, the boy, at least not one i can share because i havent uploaded it anywhere.

Im looking at their genetics. and how i should breed them. I believe my best bet is to breed both bucks to the doe one after another this summer and see what I get.

Domino is about 4 months old. Be around 5 when i get him. So ill breed the harlis together first, then when hes old enough those babies should be weaned and i can breed him to the harli doe.

I have no idea the colors ill get , seeing im not really telling the smart powers that be that i decided against making my own harlis from scratch ( so much culling to get the “right colors” so instead im buying three and im going from there. Smarter would have been two does and a buck. But ill take what i have. Im not sure what i have in my rabbit box that will actually help develop these colors more haha.

Im reading a chin ermine will work well with my magpie. My ermine is a buck ( so is domino) but i have rew> Chin babies due in 2 days so maybe there will be a ermine in the bunch.

Who knows. Genetics are making my head hurt. Its like no one can agree. In one group its DONT DO ANYTHING WITH TORT, in another its all, tort is great… sigh. My doe is torted, and you dont want the torted on the harli. So im going to work to clean that. The fawn baby i have will work. A doe breed with the harli buck, a buck breed with the harli doe. All the resulting kits from the pairings will provide me with some genetics to choose from to make new babies.

The goal is the best colors for spinning :)


Jinn April 20, 2020

How are your babies doing ?

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ April 20, 2020

Growing SO fast omg. They are proper wee buns now. Ill share some photos :) They are so cute.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ April 20, 2020

I can’t wait to see !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.