You Don't Own the Dead in Poetry

  • April 18, 2020, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Every day
I wake up
Cold and lonely
Crying tears
That bleed
While memories scar
The visions I see
Searching for help
And I only see myself
I’m hollow and confused
And I don’t know what to do

I’ve spent my life
Traveling like dust in the wind
Floating away
Hoping to die
Starving for life
While no one is here
By my side

Today
I’m down and ugly
Lifeless
Inside this glass
There is no air to breathe
No reason to live
Trying to surface
But I find myself in everything
That makes me die

America
What the fuck is wrong
Criminalizing me
For sins, I never committed
Look at my face
Did you see my scars
After I took a knife to my face
I fell down
For my wrists have opened up again
Suicidal thoughts will always live

God
What the fuck
It is like you knew everything
And still, torture me in dreams
You haunt my mind
Telling me everything
I don’t understand
Your message today
And all these people
You give me
For guidance and help
But I don’t understand why
Since I can’t save me
From myself

All the ants
Devouring my flesh
While the spiders
Suck the blood
Inside my heart
My eyes fell out
Deaf to all sound
Realizing I’ll be never found
Intoxicating myself to save
What is left of me
And I know
Someday
I’ll be cold and dead
Blending with all the numbers in the sand

Love was never here
I have no feelings to breed
As I soak myself up
Kiss everyone goodnight
One day you’ll wake up
To find me dead
Cause I have no reason to live
And I don’t expect you to understand

Before you pass judgment
On what I said
You have no idea
What is in my head
And you don’t
Own the dead


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.