My mother's amazing in Second 1st

  • April 18, 2020, 11:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Called mom today.... It’s been like 3 days since I checked in last. I updated her on our sickness and we chatted for a bit. She’s been making masks and taking them… somewhere… She briefly discussed the places supply… I don’t remember where she said… that’s not important. The place said that they have had 300 masks brought in from random donations like mom’s BUT mom has been 2 weeks in a row with 60 and planning 70 this next week! This means that she’s already made more than 1/3 of their supply .... amazing....

I did tell you guys that she’d gone to NYC just after 9/11 with Red Cross right? She had spent almost a month there but they would not let her stay longer.... something to do with the mental strain of the situation and the average brain.

She’s “the sewing circle’s secret weapon”.... She’s part of a small group of ladies that get together (did before COVID) once a week and chit chat in a room at the senior center. Then sew up fabric teddy bears for fire department and bibs for the resource center… pretty much any small sewing project that would be useful to have a lot of for any given place in the county. The commit a number in a certain time frame and people donate fabric and thread and they do the work.

Her heart works different than mine. If she’s not helping she’s not happy. As soon as I’d seen people start asking about donating masks they made (somewhere in the internet realm) I mentioned it to her. It’s perfect for her to pass time with. She’s just amazing.

She admitted today that she starts getting depressed near bed time. She’s so scared and worried I can’t imagine why? .....

On that note when I’d called I went over The doings of the last few days.... just sitting around watching NCIS :(.... I love the show but binge watching is too much for me.... 15 seasons (on Netflix) each with 20+ episodes and Rocky wants to watch them all. I digress.

Yesterday, Krystal messaged me that the main plant is staying closed till May 15th.....

Mom said that if it gets bad her and David have talked about getting a motor home and moving into my driveway (as if I’d let them stay there .... it’s a 4 dbr house) and help us pay mortgage. I tried to calm her fears. The world is not ending.... but Smithfield meat packing (packs pork) and some beef plant.... and Tysons.... have had COVID outbreaks.... so they will have to close and then she spirals and is slightly paniced ..... I try to tell her it will be okay and if she is really that worried to make a few vegan dinners. Can’t hurt anyone to have a stir fry without meat .... 2-3 times a week while she’s worried.... and more often if she finds it founded (where she can’t get and when she gets groceries) I let her know that if I suddenly didn’t get any pay at all as of right now.... we’d be good (food + bills+mortgage) for the next 3 months..... she seemed shocked. I was actually really proud of being able to say it even though it is pretty temporary.... none of the extra will be getting paid on the loans till we are both back working.

My sister got a stimulus too :). She won’t need it as she is in a group home where her pennies are not entirely her own. I mean she gets spending money and trips to the store (which is way better than where she was before Thanksgiving), it just doesn’t take all she gets to pay the bill anymore. Which is awesome because mom was paying $150 on top of all Alicen’s SSI. Now her health insurance covers most of the cost and she’s left with money! :). Meaning when she needs things it’s not coming out of mom’s pocket anymore :) .... with the stimulus in her account mom had to take out $1000 because if she maintains a balance higher than $2000 money is taken from her SSI check. Personally, I think that as long as Alicen has what she needs mom can take all she wants.... mom put it in savings for ïn case” but I’d not care if she blew it on .... anything really. Mom has Alicen’s son so any amount should be hers to spend on raising Joshua.... ya know what I mean?

Mom and David also got their stimulus and the extra money for Joshua. So they will be good for a good while too. They are on a fixed income so having the extra.... mom will know what to do :).

This turned into an I’m just so proud of my mom entry lol..... can’t deny it though lol


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.