Ants, popsicles, and the dog next door in Diary

  • March 25, 2014, 6:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems stupid to have writer's block in my own diary, but I find myself mostly staring at the screen today with scattered thoughts and nothing to say. My emotions are at the forefront of my mind. They aren't so easy to put into words. So with that in mind, I'll just write whatever my fingers want to type.

Last week I bought some Popsicle brand popsicles. I like them because they don't break apart or fall off the stick like the generic or cheaper types do. Plus, they're soft enough that you can chew them up. The cold hurts my teeth sometimes, but it's worth it. And they have stupid jokes on the sticks, too. I love stupid jokes. One of the jokes was: Why didn't the rooster go on the roller coaster? He was chicken.

Ants seem to have invaded the house. This past week they've been all over the place, especially in the kitchen. Last night I was doing something on my computer, and an ant crawled across the monitor screen. I killed it right away. So far that's been the only ant I've seen downstairs. Let's hope it stays that way. I mixed up a concoction of dish washing soap and water that works great for killing ants and spiders. Ants die within seconds. Spiders vary, sometimes taking five minutes or longer to dry up and die. It's stupid, but I feel guilty for killing spiders. I guess it's because they seem to have some degree of intelligence.

More raking needs to be done. The weather is nice, today, and it's not quite 6:00 pm. I ought to go out there and do it. We'll see. This isn't meant as an excuse, but I've been depressed today, which makes me feel less motivated. Physical activity would only make me feel better, though. At the moment, I'm leaning more toward spending some time outside. There is still some daylight left.

The dog next door has done a good job scaring away the deer that usually hang around the yard. That's pissed me off. And the neighbors allow it to bark and bark, sometimes as long as an hour and a half of continuous noise. A couple mornings ago I went outside and yelled at it. It's a nice dog, so I felt bad about doing that, but if its owner (or owners) aren't going to tell it to be quiet, I will. I called it a bad dog and it ran away. All it needs is a little extra attention and a minimal amount of training, and the dog would be as good as the best dogs out there. It's a really cute, yellow lab, still a puppy, but fairly big.

This entry is pointless, and it's not getting any better as I go along, so I'll end it here. Take care.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.