Oh My Glob. in Journal

  • April 14, 2020, 7:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So much has happened.
I guess that’s what I get for not making an entry for months. But hey. I had a baby, yo.

It’s really difficult to know where to start. So I guess I’ll just write what’s on my mind.

I’m really very tired of emotional ‘arguments’ and sentimentality. Every. Single. Time. I put together a well reasoned and well sourced thought, complete with every caveat; and the responses are
I guess you don’t care about the elderly and infirm
Sure hope your grandma doesn’t get sick
Must be nice to be a colossal piece of shit who doesn’t care about anyone else

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Not an argument. After I take the time to explicitly voice my very real concerns; over the lives lost, the jobs lost, the people who are desperately ill, the mentally unstable forced into solitude, the families ripped apart, etc, all you people can do is attack.

In other news.
DH’s grandmother died last week. NOT infection related. But very much affected by it.
She died alone in a hospital without anyone allowed to visit. She couldn’t hear too well and the hospital couldn’t get her hearing aides to work. Talking on the phone involved talking to a nurse while the nurse relayed the message basically shouting. She didn’t know much about computers and video apps, and the nurses couldn’t get the Zoom video chat to work.
She wanted very much to meet her newest great grandson. She never got to. My only consolation is that she saw his pictures and a few recorded videos of him.

Well. It sort of reminds me of my own grandmother. My dad’s mom. She was diagnosed with very late stage breast cancer around age 80. Shortly after her diagnosis, her only daughter announced she was pregnant for the first time. I was far too young to remember any of this, but my mom tells me that it completely broke my grandmother. To know that her only daughter would finally have a baby, but she’d never get to meet that baby.

Life really sucks. I still can’t help but hope they each died without any regrets. But in my true heart, I know that life is shitty, and they probably did.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.