Easter: I Forgot in The Troubled Mind of a Helpless Teen

  • April 12, 2020, 2:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had completely forgot about Easter until Mom has us dying eggs last night. We did not buy a kit this year, so we kind of winged it with food coloring. It worked out okay. We just have a lot of solid colored eggs opposed to our usual vibrant mess.

I am feeling pretty upbeat today. I woke up a little early so Dad and I could make a big breakfast. We made bacon, biscuits, an omelet and potatoes. I have a very happy stomach. Since my older brother and sister are here, we watched Godzilla: King of Monsters while breakfast was being made. It ended up being more of a late lunch.

After we ate our pretty great breakfast, my sister went out to find garlic for Mom, and my brother helped us halfheartedly look for eggs. The real ones had been sitting for a while and we really did not want the house to stink. As old as we are, it felt more fun to hunt this year with my brother here. It is like a hide-and-go-seek situation without people hiding. I refuse to give up some certain parts of childhood.

My sister did not end up finding any garlic, so Dad is out now searching for some. If worse comes to worse, Nana will bring some down when my aunt and uncle drive down. I do not know when they are driving back up to Oregon and Washington, but it is nice to have them here for the time being. I am hoping them being down here for a nice dinner will boost Nana’s mood a little. She is an understandable wreck right now.

I am going just say right now: Cremation is weird to me.

I mean you put the organism in a fire and wait until it burns to ash, then you collect as much of that ash as you can and put it in a box. It just freaks me out. The reason this is coming up is because he is going to me cremated. Also because I keep seeing Max’s ash box (our dog) on the shelf and keep thinking of the vets burning him it makes me sad. We still have not gotten Harley’s ashes yet (our other dog). The thought of someone or something you love being burned to ash and then keeping that ash is just unsettling to me. Maybe I am just weird.

I should probably sign off for now. Dad is going to show me what kinds of paint colors he has for me to use. I am painting a huge purple and blue willow tree on my bedroom wall. I have it all kinda traced out, it just needs to be painted. I am pretty excited. I am ready to make my bedroom a comfortable happy place. I’ll keep posted on how it comes along.


Last updated June 27, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.