Schools closed the rest of the year in Torridaussity Two

  • April 9, 2020, 3 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I had been holding onto hope that maybe we would go back for one month in June. That hope was shot down today when the governor announced that schools in PA would be closed the remainder of the year and online/at home schooling would be continued. This means that my hours will not go back to full time until at least next school year because in the summer they are usually cut in half because school is out. I may need to find a new job because unemployment will only go so far. My heart is breaking for the kids because they are going to miss so much especially the Seniors (college ones too) graduation, prom, saying goodbye to their friends and teachers. I would have been devastated if this had happened during my senior years of schooling. I foresee an increase for the needs of counselors for everyone. I am saddened for people who have had to cancel their weddings. For people some of whom I know personally who have lost loved ones and they are grieving alone and their loved ones died alone. I was handling everything pretty well and trying to stay positive, but with being dumped, the school closing and just everything I am struggling a but right now. I hope you are all hanging in there and thanks to those of you who still read me and give me support. Love and hugs.


Deleted user April 09, 2020

Our seniors are upset too. When they shut the schools down Mid March they canceled graduations and Convocations for the university. They didn't even wait and see. I believe it was on the advice of the health minister though, they knew that this wasn't going to blow over quickly.

I'm so sorry. I hope you can get enough help with EI to make a go of things until you can get back to work.

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ April 09, 2020

Thanks me too.

Small Town Girl April 09, 2020

The worst for me is hearing about the people having to die alone. Ugh! Nobody should die alone! Breaks my heart!

So weird how everyone's high school days were different. I would have LOVED for my senior year to end early! Senior year of high school was one of the worst times of my life.

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ April 09, 2020

Yes no one should die alone

Shattered April 10, 2020

I’m so sorry. :(

Always Laughing Shattered ⋅ April 10, 2020

Thanks I understand why everything is going the way it is, but it saddens me that my work is at least until end of may telehealth and not what it was.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.