Where am I? in anticlimatic

  • April 4, 2020, 8:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just woke from a rather remarkable dream that I can only assume was a subconscious product of several needs I was feeling after last night’s meditations. I dreamt that I got in my truck and drove until I was somewhere I didn’t recognize. A very small town that was all together new, yet had much in common with the small town I grew up in. The bar I walked into was crowded, and had dark wooden floors and a high ceiling. I sat down at the bar between strangers and just observed silently for a spell. Eventually I got to chatting with the bartender, a very nice and attractive middle aged woman, and upon asking her where I was she seemed suddenly surprised and interested. You don’t know? She’d ask. A woman from the group to my right helped her out. You’re in F..... Fijord?.... I can’t remember what they were calling the town. But it was nowhere I had heard of. I told them I recognized the name, though- and in the dream it did ring a bell- and before long I had made a fresh group of friends, men and women alike, and shortly thereafter they were inviting me back to one of their places for no particular reason. One of the men in the group expressed admiration at what I did, and said that if I wanted to move to town he would have plenty of well paying work for me. It was nice to feel appreciated again. One of the women seemed to take a particular interest in me, and I was looking forward to exploring that potential. Later that day we went into a cafe to get coffee, and as we were standing in line chatting I noticed that the man in front of me looked an awful lot like my late grandfather. The more I stared, the more I realized it was him- same hat, same black and white checkered flannel jacket, same way of standing, of walking, looking around- and finally he did look around, and I could see in his face that it was really him. Which is exactly when I realized I was dreaming, and that my new friends and new life were a ruse. I used my last few seconds of post dream lucidity as best I could, hugging my grandpa until I woke up.

I hate good dreams.


Last updated April 04, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.