COVID Impressions in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • March 31, 2020, 9:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is interesting. I hear a lot of people essentially screaming, “I AM TIRED OF TALKING ABOUT COVID!” And I get it. A meme I like says, “This month has been a hell of a decade!” We’re all looking forward “to the other side of this”. Honestly. But as we have to remind people about so many things… just because we WANT something to be true doesn’t MAKE it true.

(1) Saw people saying “We should be focusing on COVID recovery numbers, not death tolls!” I am… admittedly conflicted about this statement. We should ABSOLUTELY be celebrating recovery numbers. Yes. We should remember to celebrate the good. But I get VERY hung up on the word not. There are still people that are calling this “unnecessary over-panic”. But here is the deal… if we all actually DID take this seriously? If every single person besides medical staff stayed home for 14 days… and medical staff and those they were in contact with had no opportunity to spread infection for 30 days? This would be done. But we aren’t doing that, seem entirely incapable of that, and are mostly guaranteeing that this will stay with us through May (at least). SO… I think it is very irresponsible for anyone to suggest that we not talk about the death toll since it is climbing and a major concern. This is yet another time where I say… I get it. People are scared. People are freaking out. People don’t want to hear death toll numbers. The same thing happens in times of war. We’d rather NOT hear the bad news and pretend it doesn’t exist. But it does. And we need to address it. Find solutions. Honor the dead and work to make sure we all aren’t doing things that will add more to their numbers.
In Summation: We should be discussing the recovery numbers… and discuss the treatments and actions that helped them recover. But we can’t stop talking about the death toll. Especially because in times like these… we honestly NEED to be uncomfortable. We need to stay vigilant.

(2) There are folks who have turned back to “Fuck all of you for panicking this is inconveniencing me!” I just… I can’t imagine that level of apathy or selfishness. I get that this is huge. I get that people’s entire lives are being re-written by this. The Seniors who won’t have their last track season? All of the people who won’t have a graduation ceremony? People who have to postpone their weddings? Their baptisms? People who saved their entire lives to go on that ONE TRIP they always wanted to and now can’t. People who are going to miss out for being there for an important birth or miss the chance to say a final goodbye to a dying loved one? I appreciate, understand, and accept that this whole thing is certainly inconveniencing people. But the truth of what is going on matters.

Think of it this way… let’s say you REALLY want to say goodbye to your dying relative… and they are dying already so it doesn’t really matter, right? So… screw Social Distancing and Stay Home Orders. You find a way to get (say) from Springfield to Columbus to visit your dying relative (somehow). You may not know you are sick with COVID, but you come into contact with someone and get them sick. That person decides that they refuse to miss the birth of their first grandchild and travels from Columbus to Franklin. While they are visiting… both Grandparent and Baby test positive for COVID and die. Now.. maybe all of that sounds too far-fetched and too contrived for you. Maybe the idea of your actions resulting in the death of two people doesn’t bother you in any way. Maybe you’re certain that no matter the consequences, you (or people like you) should never be inconvenienced at all, especially to this degree! Well… that reminds me of something we say about drunk driving.... a drunk driver can (a) get home safe, (b) crash their car doing no injury to themselves but damaging their car, (c) crash their car injuring themself and no one else, (d) crash their car killing themselves but nobody else, (e) crash their car doing no injury to themselves but damaging someone else’s property, (f) crash their car doing no injury to themselves but injuring someone else, (g) crash their car doing no injury to themselves but killing someone else, (h) crash their car injuring themselves and the other person, (i) crash their car killing themselves and the other person. SO that is 9 different possibilities… of those, 5 cause damage/harm/death to others and 5 cause damage/harm/death to themselves. ONLY 1 of those possibilities exists that does no damage to anyone or anything. AND YET… every night all over the united states there are hundreds… maybe thousands of people driving around drunk.


Always Laughing March 31, 2020

I am thankful where I am we are taking it as seriously as you can make people. I mean there are still some stupid people there always will be, but most people are doing their best to follow the rules.

stargazing March 31, 2020

I can't believe the selfishness of some people. If I ignored the stay at home order, and just went out...got exposed...and then exposed everyone else I came in contact with, I would feel absolutely horrible. And then if I found out that someone I came in contact with died because of it?? I don't now how I could live with myself. So what the F is wrong with these people? My sister in law just told me about this woman who came to see her today. The screeners told her that the woman was just here for a return to work note. But once she gets in there, she tells her she's had a fever, cough, shortness of breath since the 19th, and she now wants to go back to work except she still has a fever! My SIL wasn't wearing her coronavirus protective gear b/c it was just supposed to be a return to work note. SIL asked her how she got passed the screeners, and the lady said she lied because she wanted to see someone in person. My SIL is an at risk population and yet she goes to work everyday for 12-14 hours to help people. And this woman could have just exposed her to the coronavirus. I'm beyond pissed.

hippiechica15 stargazing ⋅ April 01, 2020

Wow that is ridiculous! My husband works public transportation into and out of NYC. He already has decreased lung capacity and is on meds that may or may not leave him more susceptible to this, and he couldn't find a mask to use (is wearing gloves.) So we've been playing it day by day (thankfully he had a week off around St. Patrick's Day.) He called in Sunday morning after having some lady on a very late night train, with a mask ON HER FOREHEAD, cough all over her hand as he went to scan her fare. NOPE.

Purple Dawn March 31, 2020

I'm very happy to see people in my town seem to be taking this very seriously. We're small and our Dr's make personal statements to keep us encouraged and to stress different things. So far it's working or seems to be. I just don't want anyone getting a false sense of security. Take care, and I'm glad you can work from home.

Perpetually Plump March 31, 2020

Inconvenience? People are experiencing a lot more than inconvenience. people have no money coming in. They have no food. They can't pay their bills. they can't buy toilet paper, not because there isn't any, but because they have no money to buy any. And they have no hope of money coming anytime soon. I have watched local restaurant after local restaurant after local restaurant close. A lot of them will never be able to reopen, because the people who opened them sunk their entire life savings into these restaurants. And now they can't pay their rent, their mortgages, their loans, their outstanding invoices. And they have no money to buy new product when we are no longer on lockdown. people are supposed to stay home, but the lines for the food banks stretch for city block after city block. A few local restaurants are burning through their savings and feeding people for free with as much food as they can cook for the day. It is taking them hours to serve all of the people that need food. we are talking hundreds of people standing together, waiting in line to eat one meal for the entire day. Should we tell these people that they should stop worrying about the inconvenience of eating, and that they should just go home and wait this out? A lot of us seem to be tone deaf when it comes to what people are experiencing outside of our own income brackets and job security.

Park Row Fallout Perpetually Plump ⋅ March 31, 2020

No, we should absolutely acknowledge those issues and put the blame/focus for those issues where it belongs. And we should all try to find ways to help that don't ALSO expose others

Deleted user April 01, 2020

I was sort of floored when I found out this morning the Florida health department said they’d not really tracking recovery numbers. O.o

I think hearing that “hey your chances of surviving this are really good” helps reduce stress. Which isn’t good for the immune system anyway.

But I’m convinced media continues to only report the grim side of this because that’s what sells. 🤷🏼‍♀️

DimMeOut April 01, 2020

I fully admit... In the beginning I thought people were making a big deal out of something that was ultimately not that big of a deal. But as the death tolls just keep rising and our entire way of life has changed in the blink of an eye, I can't think that way anymore. I don't understand how the people who bitch about it all can do that, seeing how many people are dying. People who were otherwise completely healthy human beings are dying over this thing. We are now having to isolate ourselves from other humans, wear masks and gloves when we go out in public, and it's STILL not keeping people from getting sick. It's totally crazy.

colojojo July 14, 2020

I agree with this. I get that there are people prone to anxiety and panic the second they read something devastating, like death rates, etc... but... we can’t be sheltering from the reality either. Someone asked me on my entry if I could not post such scary stats that could trigger someone like her to panic. My diary.. so no. But also... just... it’s reality. We can’t turn our heads from all the bad things in this world, especially those that are fixable or need a solution. We get nowhere.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.