A lovely tribute in Scottish Meanderings

  • May 12, 2020, 2:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just wanted to share this.

Heather is one of the daughters of my best friend - she’s a nurse and she posted this this morning.



Isn’t that such a lovely thing to do for her?

The funny thing is - for those of us who know Heather, he’s managed to somehow capture her even though she’s wearing the mask and everything else. That’s such a talent.

And I’m so glad she decided to share it - it gave me a real lift :)

Bailey’s got a bit to go before his artistic skills come up to the same standard I think. Not sure what the weekend's offerings were supposed to be. The first one looks like some sort of weird looking duck maybe?


And the second one I think is supposed to be his rendition of The Sphinx. He took the huff and wouldn't tell me.



I finally got out in the garden this week. As the flowers drop, the number of bees have decreased so it’s now fairly safe to sit on the chair. Took my Italian homework out on Wednesday afternoon with a glass of ice cold lager and worked out there for a couple of hours which was very pleasant.


I’ve been getting jealous of all the entries being written about shops opening, more traffic on the streets, plans being made to see folk etc etc but there was something else that seemed to be rankling in the back of my mind. Then I realised what it was.

We’re not all in the same boat any more.

When we were struggling to get through lockdown we knew pretty much at least everyone else in the world was struggling too but now restrictions are easing up in different countries so we’re all at different stages of the process now.

That seems to make it that much harder.

And Nikki and I are starting to crack.

We've also realised we're getting far more out of seeing each other physically - albeit we can't be near or touch each other and it's usually only for 15 minutes - than any of the House Party/Zoom chats we've been having.

This Friday the sun is supposed to shine in both Aberdeen and Pitmedden where she lives, so we've made an Executive decision that I'm going to chance it and take a run out to see them. She has a gate in her back fence so we’re going to open the gate, put a table lengthwise in the space - I’ll sit at one end of the table in the drive in a foldaway chair and her and the kids will be at the other and in the garden so we can still do the properly socially distanced thing. The girls are fine - they understand and accept it but it's hard for Ruari so that should stop him from coming too close.

So in this extremely unflattering pic of the 4 of them with the sun in everyone's eyes - roughly where I’m standing is where I’ll be sitting but further back.


We haven't told the girls just in case the weather changes or some other last minute occurrence happens in which case we'll just revert to House Party instead.


I've decided I like the fourth version of my change around of the sitting room - especially when the weather's nice. I have always bemoaned the loss of a proper hall but I must admit now that the settee is facing the sitting room door, I can open the front door when it's sunny and get the good of the ensuing sunshine - whereas before the settee was where the TV and chair etc. are now and the light from the door if it was open would shine on the telly on the opposite side of the room so it was always kept closed.


It also opens up the room a bit more - seems more spacious now. I've always had a problem having nowhere really to put a proper table, even though I have a decent size drop leaf one in the kitchen which never sees the light of day. But I could probably take it through and put it up here now when the girls are here for tea - I’ve just been using their old kids' table and they've pretty much outgrown that now.


A nice circular rug may be a good plan to finish the room off. And then once I can work out the logistics I'm going to get it painted or wallpapered this year or next.


On one of my walks the other day, I did a double take at this dog outside a house I was passing - it was only when I was close up that I realised it wasn't real! But it wasn't until the next morning when I was sending it to Nikki that I saw the stick in front of it. Such a little thing but oh so poignant!


Feeling very guilty that I'm generally much more in touch with my oldest brother, Ian, and hardly ever with my other brother, Mike, or my sister Lorna, I've arranged a Zoom meeting for Saturday night with all 4 of us. This could be fraught in all sorts of ways! Lorna I'm not worried about but the boys are both over 70 and can sometimes be - technology challenged - shall we say. However they both have kids and grandkids in different parts of the world so have had to get familiar with WhatsApp and all the rest in lockdown so I might be doing them a disservice there.

I only have the free app though where you can only get 40 minutes meeting time so I'm fully expecting 30 minutes of that will be taken up with them trying to find cameras, microphones, stop showing us the top of their head or just get into the waiting room! :) Although Lorna tells me you can start another free meeting when the first one finishes so that's not quite so bad.

I'm crossing my fingers all the same🤞.

thesunnyabyss May 12, 2020

it is so green and beautiful looking there, I'm so glad you've been able to enjoy your garden, it looks so lovely,

that is understandable, hearing about other countries opening up more, especially when everyone knows everyone else's business now, here we what we call 'cohort families' another family or branch of your family that you agree to share the isolation with so to speak, as long as you are keeping the isolation rules and not being exposed you can see the other family, kids can play together etc, just to help with the isolation of it all, especially for the kids, it's still such a hard thing to deal with, I hope your visit goes off without a hitch and the weather is beautiful,

I loooove your couch!!! a round rug would be perfect there, looks fantastic!!!

have a good day, stay safe and be well!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ May 14, 2020

We both really wish we’d made that decision to ‘expand our bubble’ in the beginning but obviously it was safer not to. However both houses have been isolating pretty well so I hope it’ll be okay.

I love that couch too - it always cheers me up when I come into the room! :)

thesunnyabyss Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

if you all have been isolated for well over the 15 days for incubation I see no reason at all why you shouldn't be allowed a visit,

today here in Alberta we are starting Phase 1 of the reopening, further to the south of us there is a much larger issue with the virus and the two cities where it is most prevalent will not be opening as fast, it makes sense to me, we can't stay in seclusion forever, we need to stay safe but we need to keep living, ugh,

adulting in times like this sucks, lol,

Jess will be visiting this weekend here, shhhhhh!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ May 14, 2020

Aw she's gonna love that - good on you! Have a great visit!

Camdengirl May 12, 2020 (edited May 12, 2020)

Edited

Love your sofa!

Yeah, I’m getting massively jealous of those allowed to see family and friends... I also think it’s just extra hard when some people are moving out of lockdown and we are being told to stay out... I’d expected to be locked down over the summer, but today we got told that the P1s won’t be starting till after xmas, and that’s just really bummed me out and made me realise that I’ve got another 8 months of no childcare - which I can’t pay my bills without!

Marg Camdengirl ⋅ May 14, 2020

Oh wow - not till January?? I don’t think I’ll mention that to Nikki just yet ......🤯

Camdengirl Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

Director of Education here is a total law unto herself... She ignored the legal deadline for placement requests, refuses to acknowledge that head teachers not being able to spell is an issue and now this!

Marg Camdengirl ⋅ May 14, 2020 (edited May 14, 2020)

Edited

How on earth do Head Teachers get to be Head Teachers without being able to spell?? Beggars belief!

Camdengirl Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

Nepotism!

Marg Camdengirl ⋅ May 14, 2020

☹️

Jafael May 12, 2020

Your sitting room looks gorgeous! Especially with the door open, so bright and sunny!

Marg Jafael ⋅ May 14, 2020

It is really nice to sit in when the weather’s good I must admit - and I’m in a sort of cul de sac as well so it’s quite private which is an added bonus! :)

noko May 12, 2020

It looks like Bailey likes the new room arrangement too! Especially this time of year I feel like I could bathe in what light there is. Love it that you were able to get out and enjoy the front garden. I told my wonderful neighbor about the social distanced visits with my family and best friend and we talked about risk and at the end when we were saying goodbye she asked if I would be available to go for a properly geared up socially distanced walk later this week. Oh yeah. I so hope your plans are able to happen. And yeah, it is super easy to start a new meeting after the 40 minutes are up. It helps if you can get them all set up as Zoom contacts first because then you just check them off the invite list and they are in for the 2nd meeting.

Marg noko ⋅ May 14, 2020

He’s so funny - I haven’t been spending a lot of time in the sitting room but once I changed it I’m in it for a couple of hours a day now. He’s so used to me being upstairs most of the time (I turned my spare bedroom into a sort of pseudo sitting room/office when I was ill) that he came down the other week with a most indignant stance as though to say “Where the hell ARE you??” and now he comes and spends 10 minutes on the sofa with me every now and then :)
That’s really useful re Zoom - thank you! So does it automatically chuck you out after the 40 minutes? I’m presuming there will be some sort of warning first to let you know?

noko Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

The free Zoom only cuts off the meeting at 40 minutes if there are more than 2 people involved and yes the host gets a warning but it is quick so it is helpful to keep track of time. There is a new feature that when you click on the word Zoom up on the top of the screen during a meeting, a drop down menus appears with a link to the meeting you can copy and send to participants. That is helpful when you start a new meeting, but it might be worth testing before hand to have things go smoothly especially if you don't have contacts you can invite set up yet.

Cats really do like their routines but if there is sun available...exceptions can be made.

Marg noko ⋅ May 14, 2020

A friend told me the free Zoom has lifted the 40 minute cut off but I've just spoken to my sister and she says it only happened once with them - the rest of the time they were cut off so maybe it's just a one time thing to encourage folk to use it? The 4 of us (oh I'm laughing at myself here - I'm on my Mac because I've just had my Zoom Italian lesson - most of the time I'm on my iPad or iPhone - and I've just gone to touch the screen to try and correct something! What a bozo!) were using a Messenger chat to talk about it and set it up so I've just copied the link in there to make it easier for the boys to find and use on Saturday. And I found the 'touch up your appearance' in my settings this morning so thanks for that - made sure to tick that box pronto lol! :)

noko Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

Yeah, they do occasionally offer periods where people on the free version can carry on. Also if anyone is an educator there is an unlimited version for them. I just pay the $15 a month for membership because for me it is a business expense. Why not look the best you can? 🙂 It is hard enough for most of us over 30 to look at ourselves for the duration of the call anyway.

Marg noko ⋅ May 14, 2020

Very true! :)

ConnieK May 12, 2020

Your couch is absolutely gorgeous! Love the dog statue, too. You should drop a ball on their lawn on your next walk. :) I'm trying to learn Zoom. It's a challenge.

Marg ConnieK ⋅ May 14, 2020

Oh what a good idea! I have an old frisbee of Trooper’s - I could pop that beside the stick :)

ConnieK Marg ⋅ May 14, 2020

Oh, a frisbee is even better!

SilverBlue May 13, 2020

Zoom have removed the 40min limit now 🙂

Marg SilverBlue ⋅ May 14, 2020

Have they? Shit! I know that sounds weird but I was kind of counting on that as a possible excuse to end the conversation because too much makes me ill but it’s just such a pain to explain all the time. Oh well at least that gives us a bit more time to sort all the technological problems out before we catch up on all the news! :)

Just Annie May 13, 2020

Non-essential retail opened yesterday. There were so many people out and shopping, with masks, without social distancing, that I expect a second wave of the virus (although we're not through with the first wave).

Katie set up a bench in the backyard, a safe distance, for visitors for the girls. It works. They give 'air hugs' and 'air high fives.'

Marg Just Annie ⋅ May 14, 2020

We’ve been doing similar up to now - blowing kisses and hand hearts :)

kmh. May 13, 2020

That is a beautiful painting, what a talented person and a wonderful gesture.
Haha I love how 'real' that family photo is with the sun in your eyes. So adorable!
I love your couch, is there a story behind it? It's so interesting!
Good luck with the Zoom chat :)

Marg kmh. ⋅ May 14, 2020

I’d been needing a new one for a while but couldn’t see anything I liked. Then I saw it in The Range one day (furniture/craft/toy/home stuff store) and fell in love with it. It was a bit pricy though and I was in the first wave of illness and had had to stop work so I thought that was that. Then Mum died at the end of that year and months later the money was divided up. It wasn’ta lot but I wanted to buy something specific for me with it otherwise I knew fine it would just get swallowed up in essentials so frantically checked and thankfully the sofa was still on their website! My only regret was not being able to afford a matching footstool haha! She’s probably spinning in her grave at it but I love it - and it’s actually comfy as well! :)

Kristi1971 May 13, 2020

I rather think your cat is more talented than mine. :)

I love that painting! That is some wonderful talent, but that also shows that she touched him as well in a way that allowed him to see her as she is and paint her the way she is. :)

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ May 14, 2020

Exactly and the essence of who she is is captured so well there - he’s just got it to a tee :)

Justlovely May 14, 2020

Oh, Marg! That artwork is beautiful and I love the photos!! I'm such a voyeur, you know.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ May 14, 2020

😁

Justlovely May 14, 2020

I live with three other people, and I realized that I'm starting to get a little antsy, not being able to be in close contact with people like my hairdresser, and my dentist and the ladies at the thrift store. It's so unnatural for humans to keep such a wide berth when we're out walking the neighborhood, too, like we all have cooties, (which I guess we might!). Remember, they are opening things up here possibly to our peril. My state has been conservative, but we've had some pretty high numbers of cases and deaths, anyway. I wish the doctors could tell us it's less virulent than it is, but it seems outbreaks keep cropping up whenever people gather too much.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ May 14, 2020

In my Italian Zoom session this morning, our teacher always welcomes us and asks us how we are initially. In reply to the question today I said what's the Italian for "I would kill for a haircut" lol!!

Justlovely May 14, 2020

I love love love your sitting room with all that light! See, you need a storm door to keep the bees out.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ May 14, 2020

Oh that would work very well - good idea! :)

Oswego May 14, 2020

That’s a nice, sunny and happy picture of Nikki and the children.

Isn’t this social distancing crazy? The odd thing is it’s starting to seem like the new normal. Get close to people?? When did that happen? STRANGE!!

Marg Oswego ⋅ May 16, 2020

Haha yes!

Sabrina-Belle May 15, 2020

I love your living room, what a pretty settee. I seen reason why you shouldn't visit if you keep to the distance. It's no different from meeting people outside in the park.

The painting of Heather is a beautiful tribute.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ May 16, 2020

Sadly the weather didn’t comply - it was cloudy and rainy so we had to call it off - we went on House Party for two hours instead though!

NorthernSeeker May 15, 2020

Why do cats want to pee as close as possible to the side of the litter box? Rhetorical question. It's just another one of the million ways they drive you crazy. Your living room looks light and spacious! It is impossible for me to have a table without it accumulating piles of papers and books.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ May 16, 2020

I know! It’s so hard to get it out as well when it’s that close to the side! I swear they’re giving a book from their mums to read when they’re kittens called “A million ways to piss off your human” :)

history of love June 01, 2020

Wow, that painting is amazing! So talented. I hope all is well with you all.
x

Marg history of love ⋅ June 02, 2020

Thank you yes we're all fine here :)

Deleted user July 11, 2020

Somehow I'm just now reading this and oh my goodness, I absolutely, positively, one hundred percent LOVE your sofa!!

Also, I don't know how many times I've seen an animal in someone's yard and thought, my, that's a really good dog, it's sitting so still, only to realize, no wait it's a statue :D

Marg Deleted user ⋅ July 14, 2020

Haha it's very much a 'love it or hate it' sofa I think!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.