Update on the last 3 months in Torridaussity Two

  • March 30, 2020, 10:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well hello my friends what a crazy world we are living in right now thanks to this virus. I will start by saying I am praying that you are all able to stay happy and healthy during this time of self distancing.
So first update and fastest, Don and I still talk, but I am not holding my breath or waiting for him to be the man he needs to be. He is a nurse and also has asthma and is on immune suppressants and his anxiety right now is what he is focusing on and I totally get that so I am there if he needs me, but not waiting on him. I am content with this decision.
Secondly saw my new team yes team of medical staff in the city in February and am seeing great results in my blood sugar. My thyroid seems to be functioning correctly, but the only thing I am concerned about it even with weekly sometimes bi-weekly b12 shots my energy is not improving. I see my family doctor about that next week as long as they don’t cancel because of the virus.
Biggest thing that happened within the family was on Sunday February 2nd one of the scariest days of my life happened. I was in the choir room at my church getting my choir ready to sing for the service when the pastor’s wife came in and said my dad fell down the stairs and I could tell by the look on her face that it was not a minor fall and so I went running to the stairs. There he laid bleeding from his head and unconscious. He was out of it for at least 5-10 minutes. Someone called an ambulance and as we waited for it he came too, but did not know where he was, but did know me. He had a huge lump on his head and a cut on his chin and complained about his side hurting. My mom right now is in a lot of pain so my job was to take care of dad. I followed him in the ambulance and of all days my muffler blew. Got into the ER and they were taking dad for immediate cat scan and x rays. I ran home to take my insulin and get lunch as they did the tests and went back. I was sitting in his room when the doctor came in and said he had bleeding on his brain and had to be taken to a trauma center. I called my mom and brother and we decided on a hospital in Pittsburgh. He was life flighted there. I drove my obnoxiously loud car the hour and a half and by the time I got there they had done there trauma assessment. He had severe head trauma with bleeding on the brain, a gash in his chin that needed stitches, 3 broken ribs and a partially collapsed lung. He would be in ICU over night and my brother drove in from Chicago. He was in the hospital all week and we took turns going to see him and helping my mom. He was then moved to a local nursing home for rehab. And after one week we were locked out from seeing him because of the virus. He had developed pneumonia and had some swelling on the brain and so we were worried, but he pulled through and was able to come home last week with home health coming in which could be worrisome since they may bring the virus in, but so far our county only has 2 cases but PA is in the top 7 for number of cases in the US. He is healing slowly. Mom is still in so much pain, but since my brother is still here he is going to help her try a different strain of medical marijuana so we are hoping that helps.
Next up the virus and how it is messing with my life well everyone’s to be fair. First of all my job is essential, but was switched to tele health and the families are not wanting to do 30 hours a week of video services so I went from 43.5 hours a week to 8.5 hours a week. We are basically sheltering in place unless we need food, meds, or to take care of my parents, neither can drive right now. I say we because as I said above my brother is still here a month later and it is at times comforting to not be alone, but it also can drive me nuts. Toilet paper is still hard to find here, but other than that it is pretty calm here. I have applied for unemployment because with my prescriptions and bills I can not afford to live on so few hours. I am not the only one in this boat and I trust pray that we as a country and as a world are changed for the better by weathering the storm we are in.
Thanks for reading, love you all and stay healthy.


Shattered March 30, 2020

Wishing you guys nothing but health. What yucky times these are.

Always Laughing Shattered ⋅ March 31, 2020

Thank you, likewise ❤

Small Town Girl March 31, 2020

Oh no! How awful about your dad! Scary! And Frustrating with this time! Thank you for the update, please keep us posted! Hang in there! Sending love and prayers!

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ March 31, 2020

Thank you love and prayers back.

Deleted user March 31, 2020

I hope you are able to get supplementary help for your income. So many people are struggling right now.

I'm so sorry to hear about your dad. What a horrible scare. Does anyone know what caused the fall? Did he just trip?

I'm glad you are getting more clarity and help with your medical issues. Hope you are still able to see your doctor.

Glad you are in a neutral space about Don.

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ March 31, 2020

As of now I have not heard anything about it which in this case no news is good news. They are not sure what caused the fall. A similar fall happened in the fall. He basically passes out and they aren't sure why. That is the scary part. As of now I can go to the doctor, but our county is now completely shelter at home. So out just for work if necessary, which I do have to take in my paperwork, medical issues and to get meds outdoor recreation as long as 6 feet apart from others, and to get necessities. I was already doing this, but now it is official. The whole state was already advised to, but certain counties are mandated to. I just hope people listen so that we can lower the curve.

WomanOfSteele April 01, 2020

Omg that must have been so terrifying what happened with your dad! I'm glad he's ok! Stay healthy!

Always Laughing WomanOfSteele ⋅ April 01, 2020

Thanks, you too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.