Gotta Have Faith in Current Events

  • March 24, 2020, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My sister spoke with my mother this morning and my mother ended up in tears over the phone. She’s so freaked out and worried about her children. None of us are able to source income at the moment because of this Chinese virus. Yes, I went there and called it that. I’m trying to not be vindictive and spiteful about it but I’m only human. I’m mad because this should not have happened and they should not have tried to cover it up. OK! Complaining isn’t going to fix anything here. My sister braved it and went to the store. She drove around everywhere and found one that was not at all busy and she stocked up on what she could. She came home and wiped everything down and then took a shower before she held her kids. The government in Ontario has officially announced that all non-essential businesses are to close by midnight tonight. That solves my sister and her husband’s dilemma as that choice was made for them. Matt should be coming home to self-quarantine. I can see my province following suit. My sister is annoyed that every time she calls her mother in law there is a party at her house. Some people will just not take this threat seriously.

Anyways, I completely wrecked myself. I decided to go for a run as the roads are free of snow. The dry, dirty air destroyed me man. I basically feel like I have a fever now but my sinuses are finally clear as I had the biggest sneeze attack of my life lol. I’m still going to work out in my room because I don’t know how else to kill time. I’m making all of my calls tomorrow because I assume they will be dead. I have to wait for an ROE, I assume, before I can apply for employment insurance. I’ll finish up my taxes also. I should be fine either way, in theory. I’m going to call my mother later to see how she is doing. I think that I will be able to calm her down. There is the circle of things you can control, the circle of things you can influence and the circle of things of concern (things you can’t control). She can only control herself and she doesn’t have to file everything into the circle of concerns. Her kids have yet to fail to find a way through a dark time so this too shall pass. I think I can restore some faith for her. These times are scary, yes. We’ll pull through though.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.