Lock down in Current Events

  • March 24, 2020, 11:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night my sister was informed that her husband was given the option to return home from work and be laid off and forced into self-isolation or he can stay in Ontario and continue working for the next three months. My sister doesn’t want to be separated from her husband that long and neither of them wants to try and live off employment insurance. I told her to call around today and see what her options are with all of her bills because companies everywhere are working with their customers through these end times. I’ll be doing the same shortly. I might just save it for tomorrow. I’m not in a massive rush and I’m just licking my wounds so to speak. I don’t feel hurt or anything about getting laid off. I feel confident in myself to face things head on this time around. Now that I’ve faced those fears I know I can do it again and be perfectly okay. So yeah, we’re both just drinking our coffees right now and then we’re going to face the music. Her goal is to get as many deferrals and manageable payment plans as possible so that her husband can return home and apply for EI. I’ll be trying to apply for EI myself. I don’t know if I will stand a chance but I have nothing to lose. I have to wait for my ROE anyway.

Several big grocery stores are hiring temp positions right now as their employees keep dropping like flies. We need people on the front lines to make sure that everybody can have access to food and such… not that anybody has enough respect for them about that. I don’t know if I want to risk bringing COVID-19 home to my niece and nephew. I’m sure there are jobs online somewhere? Somebody sent me a link to one for writers but… I ain’t got those skills. I’ll look into it though. I could be wrong. My prime minister had a enough is enough speech for our nation and I suspect that we will end up in martial law or whatever my country calls it. Some people are not taking this threat seriously enough. I keep picturing soldiers on the streets forcing people to stay away from each other. Grocery stores being forced to close down to a more manageable numbers for the armies to monitor sort of thing. I guess people don’t respect science enough to listen to their recommendations. My country wasn’t even hit hard yet. My city is doing pretty good I feel. It was nice out yesterday and I saw people out enjoying the weather but they were keeping a lot of distance from each other. Blah. I think I’ll call my grandmother later to see how she is doing. She’s got COPD and is basically on self-quarantine. If she tells me that she has been going to middle church I’ll have a bone to pick with her. I haven’t told anybody other my sister, my mother and Nicole that I was laid off. Nicole called me so I had a reason to bring it up. Bev and Toni are the only people I feel have a “right” to know. Toni and I are planning to move in together eventually, she’s waiting for me to get my shit together. Bev has been 100000% supportive and there for me. Ok! I’ll go start my day? With a 100 burpees lol. I saw a video yesterday of this guy who did 100 burpees a day and he did the whole bruh, this changed my life bruh. Gains bruh I’m happy now bruh. Gains = happiness bruh. I solved life bruh and I’m like… I want to change my life with burpees bruh. lol


Whiskie March 24, 2020

I wish I had your motivation to do burpees.

TL Whiskie ⋅ March 25, 2020

first of all, motivation is garbage. we're all waiting to "feel like it" but we never will and nobody is coming to make us do it. I'm mostly talking to myself here lol. Watch this if you have time
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aehoGGCHkyw

Swanny March 31, 2020 (edited March 31, 2020)

Edited

What about stocking shelves in the supermarket after hours?

bruh!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.