What a fantastic day!!!! in The start of something?

  • March 23, 2014, 2:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

OMG Yesterday was so much fun!!! I can't remember being that excited for a long time!!

My quartet was singing at a barbershop event here in my city. There were about 7 different acts, we were just one of them. We didn't get paid to be in it though, instead our payment was to get a coaching session with the main act, who are also the men's barbershop champions of Australia. I had met a couple of them when I was at our last convention last year but didn't know them that well...

Anyhow we all met at Lead girl's house, had a bit of a warm up, then went to the hall where our coaching was going to be done.

They were SO GOOD!!!!!!!!! OMG, they were so down to earth and gave us some really good things to work on and seemed to be really impressed with our sound. Now obviously, whoever is assessing us is probably going to have nice things to say but they seemed to be genuinely pleasantly surprised!!! Well, we are our state's champions after all!! lol

Anyhow, I must admit I had a bit of a crush on their tenor by the end of our session and their lead singer is a big cuddly bear that you just want to cuddle up to!

After our session we went back to lead girls house and got ready for our performance...

We were quite early on in the program and that was good because then we could watch everyone else.. unfortunately, bass girl, who is our pitch pipe blower, blew a whole tone higher for our first song!!! I thought I was going to die!!!! I don't think anyone else knew that I was quite pained through the whole thing.. she does that every now and then and I get really anxious as a semi tone can make a huge difference, let alone a tone... Anyhow we sang our songs well regardless and got good applause.. watched the rest of the show.. The mens quartet champions that coached us earlier in the day had the main bulk of the performing time. They were SO FUNNY!!! And they are so talented and so darn cute!

Being the middle aged tarts that we are, we had to have photos done with them after the show and they were only to happy to hang with us.

But first.. .a few selfies...

 photo image2_zpse2a7cdc9.jpeg

From left you can see half of bari girl's face, bass girl, me then lead girl...

 photo image3_zpsc6947a5a.jpeg

same again!

 photo image6_zpsa8cbcb2c.jpeg

Here we are with the boys... From left it's their bass singer, our bari, the boys bari, our bass, their tenor (who I had a huge crush on), then me, then our lead and then the boys lead who was the big cuddly bear.

 photo image7a_zps748c95a1.jpg

I love that photo above.. we were told to "strike a pose" and it just looks like our bari girl is wanting to give their bass guy a kiss... which she very well could have been...

 photo image8_zpsf6f88906.jpeg

haha.. I'm the only one not making a face!! this was the "strike a pose" photo.. the other side of it. I just wasn't ready to strike a pose lol

 photo image8a_zpse025d44f.jpg

hehe

I was already friends with two of the boys on facebook, so I friended the tenor guy who I had a crush on and he responded instantly which I thought was funny, and I'll friend the other one too.. these guys are so much fun.. hope our paths cross again soon...

What a fantastic day!! I wrote on facebook that I wished yesterday was my groundhog day and I really wish I could live it all again!!!


ermentrude March 23, 2014

Sounds like you had a blast, and a great way to celebrate the house sale finally going through. X

caramelchicken March 23, 2014

Haha saw those photos on FB, glad you all had such a good time! Days like that are awesome:)

whowhatwhere March 23, 2014

Looks like it really was a very good day! YAY!

And before you know it, you will be the female national champs!!!

Complicated Disaster March 23, 2014

Good times! Xxx

ElvenAssassin March 25, 2014

Sounds like it was a blast!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.