The Way It Goes in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • March 21, 2020, 8:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… things with/at the parents has been okay. But as is always the case… when my dad drinks, he gets… belligerent. And insensitive. This time, Mom very specifically and very pointedly told me to “leave things alone.” Meaning if Dad starts going on and on about how “The Liberals” are responsible for “everything going wrong” mom essentially begged me to just let it go. LUCKILY, since the dog is with me this time… I figured that it wouldn’t be that big of an issue. And I was right. This visit wasn’t nearly as bed as many of the previous trips have been.

But there was one comment. I get that “one comment” seems “ultra sensitive” to be upset about but… after you see what it was, maybe you’ll understand.

Dad was on a tirade against one of his imagined enemies in the public sphere. A man shorter than 6 feet who Dad disagrees with. Dad said something to the effect of “Short man’s disease. No wonder he couldn’t make his marriage work!”

I rather knee-jerk said, “Hey, watch it. Those comments aren’t okay now.” Because… you know… I happen to be a man under 6 feet tall who couldn’t make his marriage work… so using that as an insult against someone you don’t like is… shall we say… closer to home than it may have previously been?

Dad’s response was: “Well, too late now. I said what I said.”

So… that is awesome. Dad thinking that being short is a good “dig”, and that being divorced is “a moral trump card.” Yeeeeeaaaaahhh. Good to know.


caramelchicken March 21, 2020

Ugh 😣🙄 It's hard when it comes from your family but you know what he's like. Try not to take it personally.

I am still completely baffled at the whole obsession with height thing. Especially the perception of needing to be at least 6ft which to me is TALL. It must be a US thing?

hippiechica15 March 21, 2020

Ughgh all the stupid trip wires of family...I feel that way around my in-laws and am always trying NOT to bring anything up to get them going...

Gee thanks, dad. Seriously what IS with the height obsession?
BTW, I am VERY happily married to a man who was only 5'6" when I met him and due to his inflammatory arthritis has SHRUNK about half an inch at LEAST in the past 5 years. I seriously don't understand that being an important part of a relationship.

AppleGirl March 22, 2020

Nope, not ok.

Always Laughing March 22, 2020

I would be upset by that too.

DimMeOut March 22, 2020

Oh, damn.... That comment was definitely insensitive and a total asshole comment to say.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.