Nostalgia in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • March 20, 2020, 11:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Perhaps this is a weird time to feel this but…

I am at my parents house, sleeping in what was at one time my bedroom. It doesn’t look the same, of course. All new furniture, new paint, even new orientation for how the bed is laid out. Totally different. But this is still the room I had for some of my High School encounters and the room I would return to when visiting from college.

And as I struggle to go to sleep, my thoughts turn to my situation.
I cannot express enough the lightness I feel. Martha even still being in my life… the fact that I bear NO responsibility for her or to her? There is a powerful and legitimate feeling of relief… as a large and oppressive weight has been lifted from me.

And yet… the freedom from that weight is not truly 100% positive. The crushing weight and unhappiness became a suitable excuse. My desires and needs were being ignored and no matter what I did… I couldn’t seem to fix the marriage in any way that resulted in my wants and needs being met. So my wants and needs not being met became Martha’s fault.

Obviously, I don’t have that now. My emotional/sexual/relationship wants, needs, and desires continue to be unmet… but that isn’t Martha’s fault. Ultimately I can only blame myself and fate. And neither of those feel substantial or solvable.

I’m not (and the world is not) in any position for me to randomly find/approach some woman and start flirting or hanging out or making out or anything. And apparently I can swipe until there is a groove in my phone and the dating apps will continue to be silent.

So I’m left to consider… maybe my wants/needs/desires are just… not meant to matter. Which sounds dramatic and melancholy and I don’t intend it to. I’m just left to think… my spouse didn’t care and I can’t even get so much as a “hey, sup” on any of these apps so… I’m just left kind of standing around with a handful of seeds and no where to plant them.


Purple Dawn March 21, 2020

Enjoy your parents and visit. I bet they can offer a lot of good advice. If you spend time with your brother and his wife, your parents and their friends you just might meet someone through them down the road when you're happier with yourself. Self-confidence without arrogance is sexy. Take care,

hippiechica15 March 21, 2020

Focus on taking care of YOURSELF and exercising all the little freedoms you now have without Martha at the house. It will take awhile. You owe it to yourself. Nevermind the dating apps for now, esp in this quarantine. That lightness will help you. It's only you and that's NOT a bad thing. Your needs matter, work on the ones you can fulfill.

Pretend Mulling hippiechica15 ⋅ March 21, 2020

Aye, this.

Always Laughing March 21, 2020

You need to fix yourself now then focus on dating. Get your head in the right space that you are worthy of love and you are someone desirable to others. Dating apps are not the best indicator of what women want.

Pennyworth's Ghost March 21, 2020 (edited March 21, 2020)

Edited

Nobody's going to be dating for a while (everything's closed!) Just delete the apps and find other things to focus on for now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.