I Did Some Things in meh...

  • March 5, 2020, 12:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been looking at me. A former coworker has started back at this place and I wanted to talk to her about helping me in a professionally developmental way.

In addition to this, I reposted a resume on a job board site and decided to click the button regarding having my resume reviewed for free. They gave me a scathing review, but some of what they critiqued was crap. “Employers are only interested in 10-15 years of experience.” But I’ve been on one job nearly 22 years. So me having the only TWO professional jobs I’ve ever had on my resume is going to be like this. I will not remove one.

I did edit my resume though. Just in time so it would seem. I got an email from a recruiter. I have fought putting my information on Linked In because I feel I don’t have the career profile that belongs on there. I’ve only had to two jobs that meant anything and no useable skills to speak of. I don’t remember why I did, but I did. Anyway, I got an email from a recruiter for specific position at an investment firm. As I was filling out the application, and looking at the requirements, I realized something that I’ve never said aloud before. I’m easily intimidated because I don’t believe I have anything to offer.

I can do anything. Show me a few times and I’ve got it and the minute someone makes me second guess myself, I feel like I’m stupid or useless. Not a good look, but that’s how I am.

I look through job descriptions and qualifications. Sometimes, The descriptions give me mild anxiety, the requirements intimidate me and I feel like I have nothing to offer. I’ve been on a kick lately where I’m taking chances and leaps of faith. If things don’t work out, then it’s not for me at that time.

So, I filled out applications for two places. The one that sought me out and one other one that I found. The one that sought me out, I was skeptical of it. I researched the person that sent the initial email. Because I was not satisfied with the results, I went to the company’s website and looked at positions here. Found it and applied for it. The next day, I received an email to my other a count thanking me for applying from the same guy and sent me information to schedule a phone interview. So this will take place on next Tuesday.

I suck at interviews. I want to be as honest as I can be, and comfortable, but I’m not and I’m easily intimidated. EASILY.

Haven’t heard from the other place as of yet. That’s cool.

I will pray on it. What is for me will be for me. That’s all I will say about it.

Thanks for being here.

Kindest regards,
Sister


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.