Blankets everywhere in Bittersweet

  • March 3, 2020, 6:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My friend is expecting and found out shes having her third boy. Shes having a hard time of it. They were not expecting to have any more kids and having a third was a hard blow in a way. So she was really hoping it was a girl. But its a boy. I even slowed down her ultrasound video and frame by frame got a few more boy shots. Ive seen enough with my four sons haha. So shes a bit more ok its a boy instead of holding out hope that its a girl.
I had decided to make her a blanket when she told me. For her other boys, ive made hats and whatnot. But shes since moved to Arizona. So i figured i can make a light weight blanket for a carseat cover or shade or whatever she wants. I picked out a pretty pale teal with a yellow teal orange white and almost pinky specs. Nothing overwhelmingly girly. Would work for both genders. Now im glad i didnt get the pink solid like my mom suggested. Maybe an orange will be pretty for when i need another solid.
I started on the blanket for her though. Im going to do one called study of planet earth. Its a mandala hexagon shaped blanket. Changes up stitches and designs regularly to keep it interesting. The full size blanket is like full bed size. Im going to stop short quite a bit and make it more like a toddler bed sized blanket .

She always ordered the best hats Stitch ( from Lilo and Stitch) Grinch, Cookie monster ( i put cookies on the bottoms of the straps on the side) All the paw patrol. And more. but i think hats may be TOO warm for Arizona in summer. This can be used a lot for lots of things. Nursing cover ( if she wants one) sun shade, actual blanket lol.

Im trying to keep her spirits up and trying to help her feel a bit better. I hope this blanket will do that. I know how easy it is to be bummed out about not getting a girl when you really want one. I know shes going to be just fine, but its ok to be sad right now. Hes got to bake a long time. Shes bought an outfit and he has a name So thats good! I just want to be there for someone to talk to when she needs it. Im hoping that maybe i can even go over to Arizona and actually meet her. We have been talking for 10 years now.

My other blanket is going to be put on hold. I wanted to start another one for T for his birthday in April. Now here we are a month out and the pattern test has been delayed so either i make another one for him. Finish the one i started in Dec that he found. Or dont do it… I would really like to finish one for him too.... I think ill just pick another pattern… Not so easy to find non girly flowery looking mandalas. Ill figure it out. He needs a HUGE blanket too. Hes a big man. Time to go back to the drawing board..... What will my husband like ( and never use) but i know what he really wants is all the thought and whatnot it takes to finish a massive project like this… My last one was 80 inches on one side. Its a LOT of work.

Anyway wrists are hurting, dinner is cooking, Time to go!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.