Bunnugget update in Tales from a Rabbit Breeder

  • March 1, 2020, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well. I keep doing the thing. The thing where i get buns haha.

Yesterday i brought home a rew german angora. Shes fairly blind and scans a lot. Which is looking from side to side when you are in front of her. They dont see well so they are trying to get a clearer photo. Shes from a farm with no kids. And not a lot of ruckus. Shes a bit scared of me, But comes out and scans when the kids are on the trampoline. She also came out for my grandpa so i think she likes the kids and him haha. She runs into her box when i come near her. Shes super fluffy and will need her shearing in a couple of weeks.
alt text

So today i reserved two more. But they are a giant and a hybrid giant. A black buck and chestnut doe. Then i will have 3 supersized angoras. The smallest is 10 the largest is 15. They produce MUCH more wool then my other breeds. ive wanted a few since discovered angoras so im so excited to finally be getting them.

I will have 1 german. (doe)
1 Giant (buck)
1 Giant french cross ( doe)
1 French satin cross ( buck)
1 French (doe)
2 satin ( bucks brothers)
1 satin cross. they said he was french german, hes a shiny boy so satin ( buck)
3 english ( Sisters)

I Bred my french doe to my satin buck. She hated the french satin cross of course. The one that closely matched her. so i used an ermine ( white chinchilla color) satin buck. My english girls STILL out produce wool wise the french ive gotten. The crossing is taking down their density. Not good.

The problem is im very attached to them. So while i cant breed my satin boys.... The kids and i are attached. So culling isnt really an option for us right now. We are just going to have to keep them for woolers.
The back of the mind nagging worry with does you arent breeding ( my english gals) Female rabbits can get cancer when not bred. Its fairly common. So if they dont get bred, There is a chance they can get cancer… So im debating. Do i breed for junk ( bucks are junk here) and pray i get decent babies that may end up being dinner buns? Or just risk not too....

My french is bred to the satin. so they are going to have mixed babies. BUT they will look french. Or should. Sheen is recessive but im being told there are a lot of cross breeders here. So my french may freaking have sheen back there anyway. Sigh…

time will tell. 30 days to be exact haha.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.